I’m quitting book blogging. Thank you for everything.

Well, the title says it all, really: I’m quitting book blogging.

And… I feel sad to write this post. I feel a bit of regret having made this decision, but, I also know that I have to do it.

I love my blog, Read Think Ponder, so much. I have spent, easily, thousands of hours on this blog, making it into what it is today (for better or for worse), and I’ve really invested so much of myself into this blog. I wrote 152 reviews. I wrote a year’s worth of book recommendation posts. I wrote 11 discussion posts. During my time as a blogger, I’ve read a little over 320 books.

I invested five years into this blog. Five years ago, I had just finished my undergraduate degree, and between now and then, I have worked full-time and am now back at postgrad. This blog has been with me through the best and worst years of my life.

Read Think Ponder will always be my joy, it will always be something that meant and means a lot to me, and it will be something that I’ll always be proud of. For a long time, book blogging was my whole world. I just… I can’t put to words how much book blogging meant to me. It was such a core part of my identity as an individual.

But, I also think that my time as a book blogger has to come to an end. And… I think, I’m finally okay with that. Hence why I am writing this post today. I want to keep this post short, so, I have summed up why I made this decision into two reasons.

Reason 1: I want to devote more time to art.

So many of you are probably bloggers so you will understand when I say this: blogging. takes. so. much. time. There were days (before I returned to university) where I’d come home from my full-time job and work on my blog until I went to bed. There were days where I worked on my blog until way past midnight, even though I had work the next day. This is not something I am bitter about; I knew the work that went into blogging, and I genuinely really enjoyed it. I really enjoyed producing content, having people read my content, and for people to share my happiness over books. I loved meeting people who loved the same books as me, who had the same passions for diversity, who were blog visitors but became my dear friends.

But now, I have found something that I really love and enjoy doing more: art. I want to spend more time on that. I think I can have some sort of future with art; I feel like I can fulfill a small piece of my dreams through it too. Even if I never make it with art, I feel like I have to try. Even if I never make it at all, at least it is something I will love, something that is fulfilling alone and isn’t dependent on follower number and visitor stats. I want to pursue this the best I can. But because blogging requires a lot of commitment and time, it’s no longer sensible for me to do both. I want to pursue art, which makes me happy, and I need to let go of blogging which has been, for the most part, absolutely wonderful.

Reason 2: Blogging takes so much time, and I felt that the work was underappreciated.

I wish this wasn’t a big reason but if I had to be honest, it is a big reason. And this reason makes me sad.

I really want to emphasize the first part, because I feel like some non-bloggers do not appreciate this enough. Blogging takes so much time. And, we do it all for free. We do it because we love reading, because we want to share the books we love, we do it for our communities, and we do it for the teens who deserve to be heard, listened to, and understood. Connecting books with readers who share representation has been one of the greatest rewards of blogging.

Book blogging, especially the work done by diverse book bloggers, is a noble cause. Blogging and advocacy is something where we give, give, give and hardly ever take. The rewards are invisible, but they are there and meaningful. We devote so much time to reading, giving authors and their books that we love all the support and free publicity because their success is ours. But.

I began to feel like bloggers and the work that we did was not appreciated. This is also an inherently personal reason, because I like feeling like my work is valued and appreciated. It’s a culmination of many things, but I knew I had to leave when I saw scornful comments shared between some ‘big name’ authors about bloggers. Authors don’t have to like or love us, but I genuinely didn’t realize some authors downright despised us so much. Authors don’t owe us bloggers/readers any emotional labour, but seeing those comments, with so many authors and bloggers supporting it — it made me think: I don’t want to be a part of this toxic author-blogger dynamic and environment anymore. I don’t want to be part of a community which has always been about favouritism. Moreover, having my work be plagiarized and having to be silent about it (and heck, the people who I told said it would be better for me to be silent), knowing full well that no one would come to my side if I told everyone who it was and knowing people who supported me would take back their ‘who do I have to fight‘s in a heartbeat if they knew… yeah. Being a WoC in a community devoted to diversity is no different to anywhere else at the end of the day.

I don’t want to end this reason on a sour note. Because after all, I am moving onto something that will be better for me. There are still plenty of incredible people doing incredible work in the community, and their work is still meaningful and important.

So, listen, book bloggers and diversity advocates:

The work that you do is amazing. Thank you for devoting so much of your time, energy, and effort into writing reviews, writing content, reading all those books, and spreading your joy in online and offline communities. I know what the sacrifices look and feel like, and I know that it is sometimes frustrating. I am sorry if you ever feel underappreciated, like your work is not listened to or cared about – I understand how that feels, and it sucks, and I am sorry. But, I want you to know that your work, your effort, and your voices are valued. Your reviews are important and appreciated. Your advocacy is needed, and is making positive changes, even if they are invisible at first. So. Thank you for doing everything that you do.


What will I be doing next?

  1. I’ll still be reading. I still love reading. I’ll still read diverse books.
  2. I will still be on Twitter, if the community will still have me.
  3. I will continue to draw and share my art, and will be active on Instagram.
  4. I will still be offering commission work and opening a Society6. I may start a new blog/website for my art.
  5. I will not take down Read Think Ponder, because I want what I’ve written and worked on to remain available to those who may need it. But, that is NOT permission to plagiarize my work.

To the friends who still want to remain friends: I hope this isn’t goodbye. I’ll still be around, and if you will still have me, I’d like to continue being friends. I’ll still be on Twitter, my Instagram, and I’ll always be available via email too (readthinkponder@gmail.com). Drop me an email if you ever feel the inclination – I’ll always be happy to hear from you.

To all of you who followed me, to all of you reading this right now, to all the news and old friends, I want to say thank you.

Thank you for all of your support, your kindness, and your love for the last five years.

Thank you for reading my posts, for being my friend, and for sharing books with me. I appreciate it immensely – in fact, it’s beyond words. I’ll always look back on book blogging as an ultimately positive experience, because that’s what I want it to be, and something that I’ll look back on and think fondly about.

Thank you for everything.

All the love in my heart,
CW

37 thoughts on “I’m quitting book blogging. Thank you for everything.

  1. I’m so sad to see you go CW but I’m glad that this decision feels right for you ❤️ I’m sure we can still keep in touch on Twitter and Instagram and I can’t wait to see all your new art now that you have some more time for it ☺️

  2. I’m a newer follower of your blog, but this still makes me so sad. I loved reading your posts so much. *cries* That said, I’m happy that you quit now when you can leave with a good feeling, and not tried to go on until you hate blogging. ALSO, your art is absolutely fantastic, and I’m glad you love working on it so much. I hope you’ll start a blog for your art, and I’m really excited for your Socety6 store!

  3. Oh gosh. I didn’t see this coming. But I can absolutely understand your reasons for doing this. I guess if there’s any silver lining, it’s that I have more time to go through all the posts you made — since you made so many! — and check out all the amazing books you reviewed. You went through books waaaay faster than I could ever hope to!

    As a writer and a reader, I sincerely appreciate what you and other bloggers have done. I love reading the posts themselves and the comments from the little communities these blogs build. And this was one of my favorites. So thank you for all the time you dedicated to this. I wish you the best with your art and hope we can keep in touch!

  4. It’s so sad to see you go, CW! I do totally understand where you’re coming from though… I stopped blogging for a few years because it does take so much time and while I love it, it can be hard to spend so much time on something without much of a reward…. Now that I have more time I’m blogging again but not to the extent I was before and that’s working for me! Maybe one day you’ll return to your blog. Otherwise, I’m sure I’ll still talk to you on twitter and I look forward to stalking you and seeing where your art takes you!!

    Going to miss reading your posts, but if this feels right then it is right and go you for making a tough decision like that!

    I’ll talk to you again soon 🙂

  5. Wow CW, I’m sorry to hear that!! We’re all really going to miss you. Your blog makes such a wonderful, beautiful, thoughtful addition to the community. I can definitely understand what you mean about feeling underappreciated. I’m having some difficulty with that myself. I’m really sorry to hear that your work was plagiarized! I can’t inagine who it might be to make that “okay”, and I’m sorry you were told that. Your art is beautiful, and I’m so glad it makes you happy. I’m definitely glad I’ll still get to see you on Twitter, but it’s good that you’re doing what feels right to you!
    With love, Amy ❤️

  6. Im happy for you because yes blogging can become time consuming :( I didn’t even know about the blogger author dynamic 😱 Can you send me some links? This come really as a shock for me! You deserve everything in the world and so much more 😘 I always loved your art accompanying your posts so I hope to see you fulfill your dreams love!

  7. So grateful for everything you’ve done, CW! You’re one of my biggest inspirations and I’m looking forward to seeing more of your art. Totally understand where you’re coming from, because I’m also starting to feel like it would be better for me to focus on my creative writing. Looking forward to seeing more of your art!

  8. I’m a huge fan of your blog, CW, and I’m sad to see you go! I’m so sorry you feel underappreciated :( Thank you for writing so many amazing blog posts that make me smile when I’m having a bad day. Your art is so beautiful, and I can’t wait to see more of it <3

  9. I’m sad to see you go. I’ve been kind of a silent reader of yours, and I feel like I may have contributed to you feeling unappreciated for your work. Just know that your blog is a huge inspiration to me, and I plan on starting my own book blog soon because of it.

    On the plus side of things, I’m super excited to see more art from you. I actually found your blog through your inspirational corgis, and I’ve been in love with everything you create since then.

    • Hello friend. <3
      Please please please do not feel like you contributed to my feelings underappreciation. That's not true at all! It's also a culmination of many things, so please don't feel that way. I am so happy to hear that you are starting your own book blog. That's wonderful! I wish you all the best, and if you ever need advice or help, or anything at all, please do not hesitate to email me or msg me on Twitter. I would love to help!

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm so happy you like my corgis! I plan to do more corgis in the future, especially seasonal corgis. Thank you so much for your support, and thank you for reading my blog. I appreciate it immensely. ❤

  10. I’m very sad to see you go. I’ve recently discovered your blog and it quickly became one of my all-time favorite blogs. But I support your decision to quit. You need to do what’s best for you and if it’s quitting that’s perfectly fine. I’m going to miss your blog but I’m happy you are staying on social media. I can’t wait for your store to open and for you to draw more art. I AM OBSESSED WITH YOUR ART. WHEN YOUR STORE OPENS IM BUYING EVERYTHING I CAN AFFORD! I love you and everything you do <3. I hope this isn't goodbye for us XD.

  11. I’m going to miss your posts, CW! It saddens me to see you quit book blogging because I really like your posts. Thank you for all the things you’ve done in the book community and I wish you good luck on your future endeavors. I’m excited to see your artworks 💖 Sending positive vibes on your way and keep it up! 😊🙌🏼💗

  12. Hi CW!

    I just stumbled upon Aimal’s last post yesterday and now yours today. If I’m honest I’ve been holding similar feelings as you guys about my own blog. (Although, I’m still debating whether I want to make the final call and say goodbye. I just haven’t plucked enough courage yet.) Also, I 100% agree that bloggers are very much under appreciated for the time and effort they put into this time consuming (and not so stress free) hobby. Thank you for not being afraid to admit that. Anyhow, I’ll keep this message short and sweet. Best wishes to you! I know we’ll still keep in touch. <3

    Love,
    Summer

  13. So sorry to see you go CW but I totally understand where you are coming from and I have full confidence that things will work out for you in the future. It’s sad to think that you don’t feel appreciated or supported in this community that claims to be so many things and is just meant to be a place for our love of books but I’ll stick with you on Twitter and Instagram.

    xx Emily

  14. Having blogged for a similar amount of time and also sharing in the same joys and sorrows (being under appreciated) as a blogger, this post speaks to me so much. I’m so glad you will still be around despite not blogging anymore, because I’m so happy to count you as one of my friends! Because of RTP we have met and I’m thankful for that, and also to see more of your artwork!

  15. Awwh, it’s sad to see you go, CW, but I completely understand your reasons. It’s awful to not feel appreciated and to have your work stolen, especially when you’ve invested so much time into creating them. Good luck with your future endeavours, and I’ll be keeping an eye out for your art! <3

  16. This is so heartbreaking but I totally understand why you’re doing this. I don’t think you know this but you really encouraged me when I started reviewing books and I look up to you. The work you have done is amazing and I appreciate it and you very much. Incase I haven’t said, Thank you CW. ❤ Good luck and all the best in your next adventure. :)

  17. Hi, CW! I’m really sad to see you go, but I’m glad you’re choosing you, your art and your future. I wish you the best while pursuing your passion! And, of course, we’ll love to keep hearing from you, even if it’s not through the blog <3

  18. Hi CW! I’m kind of writing this comment with a bit of a lump in my throat. I’m so sorry to see you leave – you have been one constant in my blogging life, ever since I started, even if you took hiatuses, even if you weren’t blogging all the time, I always admired and awaited and read every single one of your blog posts, recommendations, reviews and more. I know that the blogging community is losing a great, important, amazing voice and probably one of the best book reviewers ever. Your reviews were my favorites, really.
    BUT I’m glad you’re putting yourself first, I’m glad you’re finding yourself and your love in art and something you want to pursue more. Sometimes, life is made of choices and I’m sure you’re making the right one if it makes you feel happy. I will miss you a whole lot, but I’ll be keeping an eye on you, your potential new art blog, instagram, twitter and more, and hope very much to stay in touch.
    With lots of love,
    Marie. xxx

  19. I’m so sad to see you leave but completely understand why. Blogging is definitely time-consuming and it’s frustrating at times. I love writing reviews and creating content, but it’s a lot of work and sometimes, even when I enjoy it, it can be draining.
    I’m at that point in life where I’m trying to kick start my career and I find between my jobs, life in general and blogging that I have no time to dedicate myself to pursuing something I think I’ll be good at. Thankfully I still enjoy blogging, but I have lessened the amount of time I spend on the site.
    I’m glad you’ll still be around on twitter and pursuing something you really love. I wish you all the best on your new ventures and be sure to keep up to date on twitter.
    GOOD LUCK :D XXX

  20. I will certainly miss seeing your posts, but I completely understand and support your decision. After all, no one knows what’s better for you than yourself! I wish you the best of luck with your art – it’s amazing and I’m sure you’ll do very well no matter what you choose to pursue! :)

  21. It’s a shame that there won’t be new content on your blog, but I’m really glad you were able to say to yourself when to stop. I have been thinking about closing my blog because I haven’t been able to tend to it this whole year, but it hurts to say goodbye to it. Still, sometimes it’s the right thing to do!
    Wish you all the best on your art and all the rest ;) And of course I’ll keep following you on Twitter.

  22. Sad to see you go after just starting to follow you! But I found you on Twitter and Instagram so I’m happy to still get to see what you’re up to on there :) thank you for all your wonderful posts!!

  23. Thanks SO, SO much for everything that you’ve done on here and for the community in general! You are an amazing person and I totally get that it was time to move on and change focus. I love your art and I will happily watch out for it on insta and society6 :D other than that, we will surely see each other on Twitter. You will rock this new step in your life <3

  24. Ahh CW, I’m so sad to see you go :( It seems like lately a lot of book bloggers are leaving :( If you do make a new blog for art, please let us know. I really love them and would like to see them :D I followed several art blogs on tumblr and it’s really fascinating to see the evolution of their art and how much it has grown! I hope we’ll still talk on twitter, I really am going to miss your post.

  25. Aw, it’s so sad to see you go. I myself have had my ups and downs in blogging. In my old blog I stopped for half a year and started again, and now I’m blogging in a whole another blog. It really is tiring and time consuming and needs a lot of effort and commitment. Wish all the best for your future, best of luck for your art, I’m sure you’ll be great :)

  26. This farewell post made me quite emotional. Though the word ‘quitter’ is often used in a negative sense, there are situations in which I admire and have the utmost respect for quitters – and this is one of them. It takes a lot of courage to start blogging, but I’m sure it takes even more courage to quit. Both reasons you listed are 100% valid, though you don’t require confirmation from others, I know. There may come a time when I’ll want to devote my time to other things as well, and I fully agree with what you said about bloggers (especially advocators for diversity) being underappreciated. You’ve contributed loads, and even when you are off pursuing other dreams, people will continue to advocate for diverse lit. So rest easy. You’re such an inspirational person, CW! I love your art, and we’re following you on Insta, so I’ll keep an eye out for those motivational corgi pictures (LOVE THOSE!!!). Best of luck to you with your research, and your art, and everything you want to accomplish in life! ❤

  27. I’m sorry to see you go CW! I have always loved the originality of your posts, your discussions, and especially your art. I’m glad to see you’ll still be on Twitter though! Yes ART, yes! I do hope to see more of it :D

  28. I’m so sad to see you go! I have always loved all your posts and the effort you put in your blog was amazing! ❤ Though I’m glad that this decision feels right to you. And I agree, blogging takes up so much time and sometimes you really can feel not appreciated for all the work you do. Also, best of luck on your art and any other future projects! I will definitely be keeping up with you on Twitter! 😊 ❤

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

