Yay! New Book Releases: 1st – 15th October 2017

Hello friends, and welcome to my new feature, Yay! New Book Releases!

This is the first post of my new blog feature, wherein I share a list of 10 new diverse YA and MG books (yes! my list will spotlight only diverse books!) that I’m excited to welcome to the world in the next-half month!

I know a lot of us are very busy with our own lives and things outside reading, and it’s hard to keep up with what books are releasing and when. So, to make it easier for you (and for me too!), I thought this blog feature would be helpful in knowing when to bring out the book birthday cakes.

I have, very aptly I have to admit, named this feature, Yay! New Book Releases! Because… new books make me go yay! And, if there’s anything that a bookworm loves more than finding a good read, it’s being excited for some brand new shiny books, right?


AHIMSA by Supriya Kelkar

AHIMSA by Supriya Kelkar

Premise in a sentence: A young Indian girl must take over her mother’s work as part of the Indian independence movement.

The line in the summary that sold me: Anjali is forced to get over her past prejudices as her family becomes increasingly involved in the movement.

Release Date: 1st October 2017
Add to Goodreads 


AKATA WARRIOR by Nnedi Okorafor

AKATA WARRIOR by Nnedi Okorafor

Premise in a sentence: Sequel to Akata Witch.

The line in the summary that sold me: “With the support of her Leopard Society friends, Orlu, Chichi, and Sasha, and of her spirit face, Anyanwu, she will travel through worlds both visible and invisible to the mysteries town of Osisi, where she will fight a climactic battle to save humanity.”

Release Date: 3rd October 2017
Add to Goodreads 


THAT INEVITABLE VICTORIAN THING by E.K. Johnston

THAT INEVITALE VICTORIAN THING by E.K. Johnston

Premise in a sentence: Alternate history take on a Queen and her last summer of freedom with two others before she enters a political marriage.

The line in the summary that sold me: Margaret, Helena, and August discover they share an unusual bond and maybe a one in a million chance to have what they want and to change the world in the process —just like the first Queen Victoria.

Release Date: 3rd October 2017
Add to Goodreads 


UNDER THE PENDULUM SUN by Jeannette Ng

UNDER THE PENDULUM SUN by Jeannette Ng

Premise in a sentence: Victorian missionaries venture into the land of the fae at the height of British colonialism.

The line in the summary that sold me: … her beloved brother is riding to be reunited with her soon – but the Queen of the Fae and her insane court are hard on his heels.”

Release Date: 3rd October 2017
Add to Goodreads 


WILD BEAUTY by Anna-Marie McLemore

WILD BEAUTY by Anna-Marie McLemore

Premise in a sentence: A mysterious boy appears before a girl with a magical but tragic legacy, and together they explore secrets and the past.

The line in the summary that sold me: They also hidden a tragic legacy: if they fall in love too deeply, their lovers vanish.

Release Date: 3rd October 2017
Add to Goodreads 


NOT YOUR VILLAIN by C.B. Lee

NOT YOUR VILLAIN by C.B. Lee

Premise in a sentence: A black trans superhero is framed for crimes he did not commit, and helps his friends

The line in the summary that sold me: “Between college applications and crushing on his best friend,  will Bells have time to take down a corrupt government?”

Release Date: 5th October 2017
Add to Goodreads 


FOREST OF A THOUSAND LANTERNS by Julie Dao

"FOREST

Premise in a sentence: A peasant girl is destined to become the Empress, and is set on a path of cruelty, dark magic, and dark sorcery.

The line in the summary that sold me: “… in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins–sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed.

Release Date: 10th October 2017
Add to Goodreads 


DARE MIGHTY THINGS by Heather Kaczynski

DARE MIGHTY THINGS by Heather Kaczynski

Premise in a sentence: An Indian teen is given the opportunity to go to space, but only if she goes up against the planet’s brightest.

The line in the summary that sold me: “… with each passing day it would be more and more difficult to ignore the feeling that the true objective of the mission is being kept from her.

Release Date: 10th October 2017
Add to Goodreads 


THE LIBRARIAN OF AUSCHWITZ by Antonio Iturbe

THE LIBRARIAN OF AUSCHWITZ by Antonio Iturbe

Premise in a sentence: Based on a true story, a girl risks her life to preserve eight books during the Holocaust.

The line in the summary that sold me: When Jewish leader Freddy Hirsch asks Dita to take charge of the eight precious volumes … she agrees. And so Dita becomes the librarian of Auschwitz.

Release Date: 10th October 2017
Add to Goodreads 


THE HOLLOW GIRL by Hillary Monahan

THE HOLLOW GIRL by Hillary Monahan

Premise in a sentence: A Romani girl sets on the path of revenge after she and her friend are assaulted. (Note: book has multiple tw’s)

The line in the summary that sold me: “There is always a price for this kind of magic,” Drina warns. The way to save him is gruesome. Bethan must collect grisly pieces to fuel the spell: an ear, some hair, an eye, a nose, and fingers.”

Release Date: 10th October 2017
Add to Goodreads 


I was originally going to feature all the releases I could find but thought a list of ten would suffice (also, you have no idea how long it takes to compile all of this information – it’s much longer than you’d expect! Or… I am very slow). Furthermore, consistent with the overall goals I have with Read Think Ponder, I wanted to shine a light on diverse books. 

I’ve already started compiling a list of books I’m excited for the second half of October and, friends, we’re in for a really great bulk of releases! I’m super excited and hope you all are too. 💛

  • What books are you excited for in October?
  • If there’s a book I’ve missed in this list, tell me about them! I want to hear what diverse books you’re excited for!

 

13 thoughts on “Yay! New Book Releases: 1st – 15th October 2017

  1. What a lovely new feature, I’m so glad to see this – also this will be super helpful and make me add more books to my TBR, ahah, so thank you :) I have Wild Beauty on my TBR already, I really loved this premise, this cover and I only heard great things about the author so far. Can’t wait to read that one. Dare Mighty Things sounds so, so great just as well. This October, I’m expecting John Green’s new book eagerly (can’t help it. sorry) and Lauren Oliver’s Ringer just as well :)

  2. I love this feature! All of these books look so fantastic. ❤️ I might have to add some of these other books, but for now I just added That Inevitable Victorian Thing and The Librarian of Auschwitz. Particularly the latter sounds absolutely incredible and heartbreaking!

  3. Love the idea for this feature! It’s so important to spotlight new, diverse releases. I have already read and adored both Wild Beauty and The Hollow Girl. FoTL and That Inevitable Victorian Thing are both some of my most-anticipated releases of this fall. I neeeeed to read Not Your Sidekick so I can also read Not Your Villain!

  4. The two books I’ve already read, Wild Beauty and Dare Might Things, on your list I absolutely adored, and I 100% recommend them! I’m also looking forward to The Librarian of Auschwitz, and then the other ones I have yet to check out :D

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

