My TBR for #TheReadingQuest (and my own special class!)

Hello friends! I hope you all are having a restful and lovely weekend so far, and I hope you’re enjoying your current reads.

#TheReadingQuest has taken the book community by storm, and I think we can all agree that this is a really exciting event (even more so for me, because video games were my life). The reading challenge is hosted by my dear friend and all-round wonderful person Aentee of Read at MidnightIf you haven’t heard about it yet, be sure to visit the main post and sign up!

I volunteered to draw the character classes for this reading challenge, and I’ve been very honoured by all the kind and lovely comments about my art. Thank you all; I’m glad you like them! 💛

But anyway, today, I’m going to be sharing with you all my TBR (to be read) for this challenge! I think I’ve got some really cool books lined up, so I’m super excited. But before I tell you all what books I’m reading, I want to share my character card!


My Character Card!

So, my character card is a little different to everyone else’s. I drew Aentee her own character class (you can see it here!), and I was given permission to have my own character class too!

As a big fan of RPG’s (Final Fantasy, Dragon Age, Dishonoured, Borderlands – you name it!), I had a really hard time deciding which character to draw. I was torn between Dragoon (I love dragoons!), Hunter/Beast Tamer, but in the end, I thought I would go with something a little more representative of my role in #TheReadingQuest (and Aentee’s suggestion gave me this idea too).

Presenting my character card:

cw character card.png

My character class is a Pictomancer!

But wait CW, what’s a Pictomancer? Pictomancer is a character class from Final Fantasy VI (which is an amazing Final Fantasy game, by the way). One of the playable characters in the game is a Pictomancer, and her name is Relm. She is an adorable character, albeit a little sassy, and her special power is called Sketch, which is a magic-based move that allows her to copy the attacks and abilities of her enemies. Also, she can make her paintings come to life with magic! (Wouldn’t that be so cool?)

And because Relm and pictomancers use magic skills (and I always use mages when I play RPGs), I’ve decided to take the Mage route!


And now, my TBR

FIRST BOOK IN A SERIES

A Long Way To A Small and Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

Y’all can drag me for taking so long to read this. Everyone loved this book, so I added it to my tbr. Then more people liked it, so I bought it. And yet here I am: I still haven’t read it. So, I aim to read this book during #TheReadingQuest! (And if I don’t, I give you all permission to yell at me for not reading it.) Suffice it to say, I cannot wait to read this book.

This book will give me +10EXP, +40HP

A BOOK INSPIRED BY MYTHOLOGY

The Seafarer’s Kiss by Julia Ember

I wasn’t enamoured by The Tiger’s Watch (but don’t take my word for it; plenty of people have loved it!), but I want to give The Seafarer’s Kiss a go nonetheless. This is based on Norse mythology, or so I have been told, so I’m pretty excited to read this and see what the good fuss is about!

This book will give me +20EXP, +23HP

A BOOK SET IN A DIFFERENT WORLD

The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin

I’ve been curious to read this for a long, long time. Many reviewers and friends that I trust loved this book and series. One even called it ‘the scifi I’ve been craving for since forever’ (okay, I am paraphrasing, but the sentiment remains)! I haven’t read a good fantasy in awhile (or, it feels like I haven’t), so I’m really looking forward to this book. I’ve requested this from my library, so fingers crossed that it arrives in time!

This book will give me +20EXP, +47HP

A BOOK WITH MAGIC

The Midnight Star by Marie Lu

The Young Elites was okay, but The Rose Society was amazing. So amazing that, I haven’t actually finished this series. I have this sitting on my bookshelf, glaring at me before I go to bed every night, so I’m going to placate it by giving it my overdue attention. I look forward to seeing how this book will conclude; I’ve heard good things, I’ve heard bad things, so I cannot wait to see how this all ends for Adelina.

This book will give me +20EXP, +32HP

ONE WORD TITLE

Noteworthy by Riley Redgate

I’ve heard so much high praises for this book, so it’s about time I got my act together and read it. Whilst this book is loved by many, it has also been brought to my attention that this book contains outing without consent (so if any of you are curious to read it, please look up tw’s for this book)! I definitely won’t be able to weigh in on the problematic issues of the book, so I’ll be sure to link to reviews that highlight the book’s issues. Bearing that in mind, I’ve been told that this book has Chinese-American rep and also poor rep as well, the latter being something I don’t often see in YA. I am both tentative and excited.

This book will give me +20EXP, +40HP


Will I be able to finish this challenge? No clue at all, especially since I’ll be busy writing up my dissertation and research between now and September, preparing for exams, and preparing to present several seminars. Ugh. But, aim for the moon and land in the exosphere, I guess?

But anyway, I hope you all have fun with #TheReadingQuest! Happy reading, everyone! 💛

Let’s discuss!

  • Friends, are you participating in this reading challenge? If yes, share your TBR posts with me in the comments!
  • What character class are you playing? 😊
  • What book are you most excited to read for the reading challenge?
  • And, for fun: Do you play RPGs? What is your favourite?
46 thoughts on “My TBR for #TheReadingQuest (and my own special class!)

  1. <3 All the love for this illustration. (Whispers: I want to live in this universe filled with guild mistresses, pictomancers, mages, rogues, knights and bards). I might also be making incoherent sounds whenever I see someone pick up The Fifth Season. Yes.

    I always watched the people around me play RPGs instead of playing myself but hold a soft spot for Final Fantasy VIII and Rinoa. Now I feel like sharing my shirt with illustrated wings on social media XD

    I'm also happy to play a Rogue in this universe and I'm excited to start with Sacrifice by Cindy Pon. Thank you again for the character art, it's so fun to see.

    • Hi Glaiza! 💛
      Gosh, wouldn’t that be amazing? Such a world (though, one in peace pls) would be amazing.
      Hehe, I can’t wait to read The Fifth Season!! And if you love it, I am certain that I will too.

      Oh my gosh, Final Fantasy VIII was my first FF and therefore holds a very special place in my heart. May I please see said shirt? 💛

      Ahh so exciting! I hope you have fun with the reading challenge. It’ll be a good one, I think!

      • oo definitely in peace. Leave chaos for The Fifth Season XD. Combat only seems to function through reading tournaments in this AU for now ;). Will tweet the shirt in the morning <3. Thank you! I hope you enjoy it too.

  2. I never really look at the post dates, but now my eye fell on August 13 and I got all confused until I realise you live in New Zealand 😂 It kinda feels like I’m reading a post from the future :P

    Your character is so cute and your class is perfect for you :D I haven’t read any of these, but I really want to read Notebook and I enjoyed Unicorn Tracks by Julia Ember so I’m curious about The Seafarer’s Kiss. Good luck with the quest!

    • Hi Michelle!
      Hahha, that’s so funny! For us, if a show comes out, we’ll think, OMG YES, IT COMES OUT TOMORROW. But then we realize it’s a day later because it’s a UK/US date and it’s actually the day *after*! 😂

      Aw thank you! I’m glad you think so. I’m glad to hear you enjoued Unicorn Tracks; maybe I’ll give it a go after The Seafarer’s Kiss. 💛
      Thank you for the luck! I’m going to need it. 😂

  3. I love the special characters you drew for Aentee and yourself!
    I’m playing as a mage, my TBR post is here (http://wp.me/p7Ev93-1ci), but I’ve made some slight changes since I posted it 😅 I’m now gonna read The Epic Crush of Genie Lo instead of The Wrath and the Dawn. The book I’m most excited for is probably Miles Morales by Jason Reynolds, even though I can’t read it for my main path. I gotta finish those five books first, so I get to go on a side quest to read it. Hopefully I’ll have time for it 😂

    • Hello! I’m so so sorry for my very late reply. WordPress ate your comment up for some reason, and I never got a notification for it!
      I saw your TBR and I love it! I also love that you’ve included Want in there as well. It’s such a fantastic book and I really hope you enjoy it.
      I’m looking forward to reading Miles Morales too! My library recently purchased it, so I can’t wait to dig in and read it. 💛

      • No worries, that happens sometimes!
        I’m so looking forward to reading Want, I’ve heard such great things about it. I hope your reading is going well!

  4. Cant’t wait to start tomorrow with my first book and I took a Mage, coz thats the character I always end up in Role Play Games, for example I was playing over 7 years World of Warcraft and still love it.

    • Hi Cornelia!
      Ooh wonderful! Good luck with your challenge!
      I LOVE maining mages too! I always choose them, esp if they are elemental mages. Those are my favourite.
      Wow! You’re so dedicated – that’s awesome. I’ve always wanted to play but P2P isn’t really suitable for me. I did play Hearthstone for a time though, and I enjoyed it before they destroyed my Druid deck. Ahhh well!

    • Hi Ceillie! Sorry for my super late reply.
      Thank you so much! I’m pretty excited to dig in myself. I just started The Seafarer’s Kiss yesterday so I’m looking forward to it – I’ve heard amazing things! Also, I’m really excited to read The Fifth Season, especially since it’s going to be made into a TV show?! Ahhhh. 💛

    • Hi Erica! Sorry for my suuuuper late reply.
      Yay, I’m glad to hear that you’re joining us in the reading challenge! Knight is a great choice, and I hope you have lots of fun.
      It’s my pleasure! Thank you so so much for all the support. 💛 I’m glad you and everyone like them. :’)

  5. YAAS I LOVE YOUR TBR! I am so excited for you to read The Midnight Star and once you finish it, feel free to DM me and we can chat about it! I’ve also been wanting to read The Long Way To A Small Angry Planet too! Lovely TBR and drawing CW!

    • Anisha, hello!
      Oooh yes please, I’d love to! I currently don’t have access to my Twitter account because I’m on an enforced hiatus (hahaha!) but I will DM you when I come back if I finish by then!
      Thanks so so much Anisha. 💛

  6. I said this on Twitter, but ahhh I love your class so much CW ♥ I’m in love with all your art!!! I really need to read Small Angry Planet and am hoping to use it for one of the side quests!! Good luck with the readathon and thank you again for creating such beautiful artwork for us!!

  7. I love your character card! Also your whole art style is adorable and I am completely in love with it <3

    I'm also taking the Mage's path, and have chosen The Long Way to A Small Angry Planet for the first book of a series. My friend recommends it so highly and I need to read it because it sounds wonderful.

    I read Noteworthy and I quite enjoyed it. I have to say the outing + lack of a trans perspective + the protagonist pretending to be gay and hurting a character who actually was gay in the process kind of lowered my rating. But with those things in mind it's still a fun book and worth reading.

    I hope you have fun with the challenge and your reading :D

    • Hello Helia! How are you?

      Aw, thanks so much! I went for something a little cutesy and more simplified than what I usually do, but I think it fit the challenge quite well in the end!

      Ooh that’s fantastic! I’ve heard so many wonderful things as well, which pushed me to pick it up. I hope you end up enjoying A Long Way!

      That’s totally fair enough regarding Noteworthy. I definitely have seen the criticisms and, from what has been argued, are valid. I’ll definitely be conscious of that when I give it a read through and link to other reviews that articulate it better than I can. 😊

      Thank you so much! I hope you have fun too!

  8. Hi!!
    I squeezed in just in time.
    Love the inspiration behind your designs. I’m terrible at finishing games, I’ve a shelf filled with incomplete RPGs I’ve collected over the years and neglected for the sake of reading. I’m going to be cliche and tell you my fav is FFVII (I feel like I’m slowly dying whilst waiting on the remake) with Eternal Sonata at a close second. I also adored Fable, booked time off for the release of Fable 3, though I found it too linear.
    My videogame instincts wanted to send me on the Mage path for TheReadingQuest but my TBR demanded I go Rogue. Excited to get stuck in 😊 x

    • Hi Roxie!
      Haha, I’m glad that you managed to join us! Welcome to the challenge. 💛
      Ahhh, I completely know what you mean about finishing games. I tend to, but lately I just don’t have the attention span for them. I’m currently in the middle of Final Fantasy 9! I really should finish it, haha, I’ve been on gaming-hiatus for too long.
      I’ve never played or have heard of Eternal Sonata! What is it about?
      Haha Rogue! That’s still a good choice, and I hope you have lots of fun. 💛

    • Hi Dee! Aw, thank you so so much!
      Hahaha, I’m glad to hear that you liked it! I heard some people were disappointed by it, which is fair, but it’s great to hear some people liked it too.
      Haha, I love her work as well! I’m very excited for Warcross – that definitely sounds like it’ll be a good read.

  9. Oh my goodness, the pictomancer is so perfect!! I love it so much <3 I really enjoyed the bi rep in Noteworthy and I think it is worth a read, but you're totally right, there are some problems to be aware of. xx

  10. Awww your character is so cute CW! I haven’t played that Final Fantasy game, so I didn’t know what a pictomancer was until just now.

    A Long Way to a Small Angry Planet is an AMAZING read. You will love it (especially if you have played and loved Mass Effect). I’m super interested in Seafarer’s Kiss, so I hope you end up loving it!

    Good luck with your QUEST :D

    • Hi Val!
      Aw, thank you so much! Haha if you get the chance, FF6 is an absolute gem and I cannot recommend it enough! 😊
      I heard it’s amazing and I’m super excited to read it! 💛 I haven’t played Mass Effect (or, more accurately, I haven’t finished it) but I’m sure I’ll love it regardless!

      Thanks so much Val! Are you participating? 💛

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

