What I’m Currently Reading: From superheroes with superpowers to invisible, unsung heroes

Hello friends! I’m so glad it’s the end of the week; I’ve had a pretty rough week, and am ready to leave this week behind and start a new week. I hope you all are well and as excited for the weekend as I am! (Not that I’m doing anything fun. It’s all work work work for me.)

Also, I am taking a break from all my social media for awhile, which includes Twitter and Instagram. I’ve given my passwords to my partner, and I’ll ask for them back when I feel like I’m ready to come back. I am okay. I just need to get away from it all for awhile. I’ll still be updating my blog though, and, who knows, maybe I’ll come back sooner than I anticipate.

To ease into, what I hope will be, a somewhat relaxing weekend, I thought I’d do a relaxing post. So, here’s the second post of my What I’m Reading feature!

What I’m Reading is where, every once in awhile, I’ll share and tell you all about the awesome books that I’m currently reading (and engage in not-so-subtle book-pushing), especially since I read more than one book at a time. I’ll share my thoughts, who recommended this book to me or what review spurred me to pick this up, and other thoughts that spring to mind!

The books I’m reading now are a little different to the books I shared in my previous post (and I’ll briefly share my thoughts on the books I featured last week!) but, I’m quite enjoying them so far. But, I’ll talk a little bit more about them in a bit! 


My thoughts on the books in my previous post

The King of Bourbon Street by Thea de SaileI actually enjoyed this a lot – way more than I thought I would! The OTP is so precious and adorable, but had fantastic chemistry. I was warned that there would be a lot of sex in this book, and hooooboy, y’all didn’t prepare me enough. 😂 But, if you don’t mind or like erotica, this is such a wonderful book. It’s amazingly written and I recommend it!

Chameleon Moon by Roanna Sylver: I am so sad that I didn’t get to finish Chameleon Moon before I had to return it to the library. I found this book quite heavy (not in a bad way!) and lately my mood has gravitated towards lighter books. That’s no fault of the book though, and I’m going to pick it up again when I’m not feeling too stressed and overwhelmed by university.

The Smaller Evil by Stephanie KuehnI ended up DNF’ing this book, and that’s a rare occurrence for me. My thoughts on this book are here. In saying that though, even though I didn’t like this one, I cannot recommend her other books enough. If you’re interested in psychological thrillers (and please check up on tw’s or ask me before reading!), try Complicit or Delicate Monsters.

And now, onto the books I’m currently reading!


SAINTS AND MISFITS BY S.K. ALI
Liking this so far

Genre: Young adult, contemporary

Recommended by: No one in particular!

What made me pick this up: I saw this everywhere on Twitter, so I recommended this book to be purchased at my local library – and they bought it!

Progress: 62%

My thoughts so far:

  • Overall, I’m liking this book so far. I love that this story is offering a nuanced glimpse of Janna, a biracial Muslim fifteen year old teen, and her life.
  • I like how this book discusses religion and faith as something that people figure out and navigate together, and the community aspect of it.
  • It also discusses sexual assault (this book has tw’s for sexual assault and discussions of it), and the experience following it.
  • My only criticism so far is that, while every part of this book is superb, it doesn’t have the cohesion and momentum to bring it up a notch. Some parts of the story feel a little disconnected from each other and indeed that’s inherent in coming-of-age stories that explore a variety of topics, so, we’ll see how it goes.

Goodreads


HEROINE COMPLEX BY SARAH KUHN
I can tell this is going to be my fave

Genre: Urban fantasy

Recommended by: I’ve seen Taryn praise this up and down!

What made me pick this up: I’m always here for superheroes.

Progress: page 99 of 376

My thoughts so far:

  • I’m enjoying this so so much so far. The voice and narrative is refreshing, the humour subtle and on-point, and the characters instantly likable.
  • I love Aveda Jupiter. I don’t know if you know this, but sometimes I can be pretty dramatic and seeing Aveda being dramatic is hilarious to me. I also like Nate too, mostly because he’s those awkward nerds (I really love awkward nerds?!) and he sciences and I science. Hey, hey!
  • It’s still early days for me, but heck. I’m feeling this book. I cannot wait to read more. (Unfortunately I’m super slow at reading physical copies.)

Goodreads


FREEDOM SWIMMER BY WAI CHIM
Already has me wrapped around its finger

Genre: Young adult, historical

Recommended by: Aus YA! Thank you my Aussie friends.

What made me pick this up: I’ve been meaning to read this for a long time and am so glad I can finally read it.

Progress: 14% – still early days!

My thoughts so far:

  • I can tell this is the sort of book I’ll love. I studied the Great Leap Forward and Cultural Revolution when I took Asian Studies in undergrad, but I’m glad that I’ll finally be reading an own voices account of it.
  • I can also tell that this is the sort of book that will wring my heart. I cannot wait to read more.
  • The beginning is the kind that you will never forget. It was difficult to read, heartbreaking, and so sad. I’m curious to read more and see where the story will take me.
  • I titled this post ‘from superheroes with superpowers and those that don’t’ because I’m predicting that this book will be about strength and courage. I think those are super traits in itself. In any case, I’m very excited to read more of Freedom Swimmer.

Goodreads


And that’s it for today! Earlier in the month, I was reading five books at once and whilst I like reading multiple books at a time, five was getting out of hand. So I recently finished The Paper Menagerie, which I have reviewed and will share very soon, and also The Tiger’s Watch, which I had mixed and tentative feelings about.

I’ll also be sharing my #TheReadingQuest TBR sometime tomorrow or the day after! I’ve been given permission by Quest Mistress Aentee to have my own class, so I cannot wait to share that with you all.

Let’s discuss!

  • So friends, what are you currently reading?
  • Are you enjoying the books you are reading so far? Not enjoying them so much? What are your thoughts?
  • What do you plan on reading once you finish your current reads?
25 thoughts on “What I’m Currently Reading: From superheroes with superpowers to invisible, unsung heroes

  1. Oh Heroine Complex sounds great. I’m looking that up now. I’m buddy reading Replica which is okay. And I have put The Last Magician on hold as I wasn’t in the mood for a slower book I suppose.

  2. I like this kind of post – I wish I could read more than one book at once but the books just get too confused for me haha

    I just finished Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber (which I REALLY enjoyed) and at some point – maybe tonight? – I’m going to start either the Epic Crush of Genie Lo or A Change Is Gonna Come. I haven’t quite decided yet! :)

    • Hi Keri!
      Aw thanks! I’m glad you like them. Haha fair enough! I usually read a minimum of two, at least an ebook and an audiobook and a physical copy if I can! 😊

      Ooh, I’ve never heard of Are You Sleeping before – what is it about?

      OH I hope you picked The Epic Crush of Genie Lo! That’s one of my fave books of ALL time! Though, if you didn’t choose it, that’s okay, though I hope you’ll read it soon. 💛

  3. Loving your thoughts on Freedom Swimmer so far (I was nodding along and smiling as I read them!) and looking forward to your thoughts at the end and review :D

  4. I’m almost done with a reread of across the universe which is…okay. Not quite the book I remember, I guess! I have the bone witch lined up for my next audio. I’m also almost done with One Would Think The Deep, which is….okay, I guess? I’m not really sure. but I’m going to read This Monstrous Thing next which I’m VERY excited for. Heroine Complex sounds amazing, and I really want to read Freedom Swimmer.

    • Hi Shanti!
      Ooh I’ve heard about Across The Universe though nothing has really compelled me to read it. Would you recommend it?
      Yay! I read The Bone Witch via audiobook and it’s honestly so so great. I hope you enjoy it! 💛
      This Monstrous Thing sounds REALLY familiar? I think if I see the cover, I’ll know what book it is.

      Heroine Complex is great! The humour is awesome and the voice is refreshing. Totally recommend it if you want a fun read. 😘

  5. Heheheheh are you going to do a review of The King of Bourbon Street?! (I loved it, for very….personal reasons!)

    And OMG you get your own class?! That is SO FRIKKIN COOL! Can’t wait to see more of your awesome artwork to go along with it :-)

    • Hi Wendy!
      Hahhaa I do intend to at some point!! Personal reasons?! *eye emojis @ you* Hehe but in all seriousness, I’m glad you loved it!

      Aw, thanks Wendy! Yes, I was very lucky and Aentee let me. I just posted it along with my TBR, in fact!! 💛

  6. Aaaah! I really need to read Heroine Complex, I have some sort of new found love for superhero books because of Not Your Sidekick and Genie Lo!!! I’m currently reading Knit One, Girl Two and it’s so adorable! The MCs are flirting via sending each other fanfiction links so I’m so here for that!

    • Hi Maf!! 💛
      Omg, YES. Honestly, if you liked NYS and Genie Lo, Heroine Complex is up your alley! It’s so warm and funny too, and it’s not YA, so the adult voice is actually very refreshing.

      Oooh, I’ve never heard of Knit One, Girl Two before?! I’ll have to search it on Goodreads. Sending fanfics to each other? I LOVE THIS. 💛

  7. This is such a fun post; I love this feature! It sounds like you have some really great reads; I’m glad you’re enjoying them so far! I’ve heard a lot about Saints and Misfits and I’ll definitely be curious to hear your final thoughts on that; I’ve been considering picking it up!

  8. Ahh no sorry to hear you had a rough week CW ❤️ Hopefully next week will be better

    I recently finished Heroine Complex and loved it, so I’m happy to hear you’re really enjoying it too :D I can’t wait to read more about these characters

    Oohhh you have your own class? That’s so cool! I can’t wait to see it :D

    • Hi Michelle!
      Aw, thank you. I hope so too! It was just one of those weeks, where everything didn’t go right and everything was just a mess and a ball of stress. But, it’s okay. I’ve rested up and am ready to take on next week!

      YAY. I remember you sending me that msg on Instagram! Unfortunately I am the slowest reader in existence, haha! So happy to hear you loved it. I expect Heroine Worship will be A+.

      YES! I just published the post. I’m very happy with how it turned out, despite how much I hated drawing it (I was very indecisive)!

  9. I was of the same opinion with Saints & Misfits, although I ended up really enjoying how it ended. I am currently reading When I am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn, started this morning so I can’t say much but it def grabbed me with the 1st chapter, now let’s see if it keeps me lol. Adding Heroine Complex to my TBR cuz it looks EPIC! Next I might read Tiger’s Watch & now I’m weary, curious to hear your thoughts so I’ll keep an eye out for that. I hope you have a better weekend, I also had a really rough week & I’m very happy that it’s Friday! Happy Reading! <3 <3 <3

    • Hi Lilly!
      I finished it today, and agree – I enjoyed the ending, and appreciated the step Janna took and what it meant for her.

      Oh! I adore Stephanie Kuehn, though The Smaller Evil didn’t quite work out for me. If you like her book, which I am certain will have complex and unreliable characters, I really recommend her other book Complicit.

      Heroine Complex is indeed very epic! Very epic and funny, which I love.

      I think you should give The Tiger’s Watch a go anyway. Many of my friends liked it; I just didn’t very much, I’m afraid.

      I’m sorry to hear that you had a rough week too. *hugs, if wanted* Take care of yourself this weekend, and I hope you have a better week next week! 💛

      • Yes! I was very glad with the decision Janna made at the end & hope that it gives others who read this book that are or have been in similar situations, the strength to take the step.

        So far I’m really enjoying When I am Through With You very much. It’s probably because I love unreliable characters, yea I like to be blindsided? 😂 not sure what that says about me but I’m going with it. If I end up loving it, I will for sure take you up on those recommendations you listed sans The Smaller Evil though lol.

        Checking ComiXology for Heroine Complex tonight & if not, I’ll p/u a copy at the bookstore this wknd 😃💕

        I’ll def give Tigers Watch a go, I’m curious to see Julia’s execution in telling this story. We shall see 😉

        Thank you so much for the kind words, sending positive vibes *hugs if wanted* your way! I’m hoping for a better week for both us 🙌🏼😃🙌🏼💕

        • Hey Lilly! So sorry for the late reply.
          I totally agree with you. I like the decision Janna made, and I was SO pleased to see the support she received.
          Aw, yay I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying When I Am Through With You! Kuehn writes AMAZING unreliable characters. If you like them too, I HIGHLY recommend Complicit! It’s just superb and my mind was blown by the end.
          *hugs are always wanted, so hugs back*! Thank you so much. I hope you had a better week this week and that everything is well with you. 💛

          • That’s ok, I’m catching up with my backlog of comments myself lol, I’ve added Complicit thanks to your recommendation, LOVE unreliable characters that leave me shook haha! :) I did have a better week work wise & hope you did too <3 <3 <3

  10. I hope next week is better for you than this week has been 😊
    I haven’t heard of Heroine Complex before but I’ll definitely have to add it to my TBR because superheroes are just the best. I’m currently finishing up The Dream Thieves and I’m trying to decide on whether to read Since You’ve Been Gone or Gracefully Grayson next, which is a bit of a hard decision 😅

    • Hey Louise!
      Aw, thank you so much. That’s kind of you. I have a feeling next week will be better! I’ll be okay. 💛

      Ooh I’m glad to have brought it to your attention then! I hope you give it a chance; it’s a fantastic book.

      Ooh, what did you think of The Dream Thieves?
      I’ve heard Since You’ve Been Gone is a great book, as with most of Matson’s work. I hope you enjoy your next reads, whatever you choose! 😘

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

