July Monthly Recap: On art commissions and opening a Society6

Hello friends, how are you all? I can’t believe it’s already the end of another month! 2017 is flying past so quickly. (Someone tell it to stop.)

July has been one wild month for me, but it’s a great month. I spent a majority of it relaxing and on holiday from university – well, by relaxing, I mean reading a lot, eating a lot, and drawing a lot. In this Monthly Recap, I’ll tell you a little bit about the books I’ve read, the posts I’ve posted, and my thoughts on art commissions and why I won’t be selling my fanart on Society6.


Books I read this month (and my thoughts in a few words)

1. Something in Between by Melissa de la Cruz – awesome discourse, but the romance let it down

2. I Believe In A Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo – probably the wildest romance I’ve read, true to its K-drama inspiration

3. Timekeeper by Tara Sim – adorable boys and compelling worldbuilding

4. Want by Cindy Pon – honestly if you haven’t read this: why? [insert infinite question marks]

5. Coffee Boy by Austin Chant – what new adult fiction should aspire to be

6. The Smaller Evil by Stephanie Kuehn; DNF 50% – I wasn’t getting it and it wasn’t going to work out

7. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid – just sublime.


Reviews and posts this month

Welcome to Read Think Ponder v3! – My first post back! I talk a bit about what I’ll still be doing and what I’ll be discontinuing. I also held a giveaway!

ART-ISH THINGS: Meet the Blogger – Learn a little about me and what I like and dislike – complete with an infographic.

ART-ISH THINGS: Not Your Sidekick Wallpapers – Listen. I love Not Your Sidekick okay?

BOOK REVIEW: Down Among Sticks and Stones – Great if you liked Every Heart a Doorway; perfect if you want something darker.

BOOK RECS: SFF Books With LGBT Protagonists – I recommend four SFF books that have a gay, lesbian, bisexual, or trans protagonist! (Psst, they’re all awesome!)

WHAT I’M CURRENTLY READING – I talk about the three books I was currently reading, my thoughts on them so far, and how they’re a bit different to what I usually read.

REVIEW: Exo by Fonda Lee – Has fantastic discourse about colonialism and oppression; one that’s finally nuanced, thoughtful, and grounded.

REVIEW: The Epic Crush of Genie Lo by F.C. Yee – This is my new favourite book ever and I wrote a very enthusiastic review, if I do say so myself!

REVIEW: Seven Tears at High Tide by C.B. Lee – If you ever asked me, ‘what’s a super cute book and is 100% stress free?’ I’d say, Seven Tears at High Tide.


My favourite thing that I drew this month

*whispers* This is a new thing I thought I’d include in my Monthly Recaps!

What’s my favourite thing that I drew? Sometimes I think the work I do isn’t great; sometimes I think I did well. And my favourite of July goes to:

I liked the art I did of Jess and Abby, but I was really moved by how many people liked the portrait of my future corgi baby, Jellybean (or, Freckles from The King of Bourbon Street). I drew it in less than an hour too, so fingers crossed I can get even better at drawing faster without compromising quality.


Art commissions and a Society6

Art Commissions – prioritizing diverse writers!

First, I want to express how grateful I am for everyone’s support for my art. I started drawing again because I wanted to get better, but it’s everyone’s support and love that gives me that feeling – that, this is why I get up in the morning sort of feeling. Second, I want to thank the people who approached me and asked me whether I did art commissions. Sometimes, I still can’t believe people want to pay me for my art because they like my work. It’s a feeling – and reality – that I am still adjusting myself to, but I appreciate all the kind words people have said.

So… regarding art commissions. I want to emphasize that I have given this a lot of thought – as in, week and weeks of thought – and I have decided that when I do open art commissions, I am going to be prioritizing art commission requests by marginalized authors/writers. I don’t mind if the work is published, is pending publication, or is a WIP. As all of you know, my main goal with Read Think Ponder, and in extension, my participation in the book community, is to promote diverse books. Right now, I’m thinking that if my art can connect a reader with a book where they can see themselves represented, then I will be a very happy girl.

Moreover, if you aren’t an author/writer, don’t fret! I’ll still open art commissions to everyone. I haven’t sorted out the specifics of this yet, but I will closer to November/December.

Society6 and why I won’t be selling my fanart

I have been contemplating opening a Society6, and I hope to open one either in September or November! All of my corgis will be available on selected merchandise, and other, hopefully cute and motivational things as well. I am not sure whether I will make my bookish fanart available as merchandise on Society6 yet – I have mixed feelings about taking characters from works that are not mine and profiting off of them. I understand that it’s great publicity for the authors so they benefit in that way too, or so the argument goes, but I can help promote a book without profiting from them or taking their intellectual property. It’s too much of a grey area for me, and I don’t feel comfortable with it selling it. So, I’d rather sell my my own creations.

On that note, what are you most likely to purchase? Mugs? Notebooks? Pillows?! Let me know in the comments!


What you can expect on the blog next month:

  • I’ll finally be publishing my review of Want by Cindy Pon – a book I loved very much.
  • Corgi wallpapers!
  • Another book recommendations post! I’m currently torn between ‘For Your Discoursing Heart’ and ‘Will Make You Laugh’. Hmmmmm.
  • I’ll post a self-critique post on my When Dimple Met Rishi fanart that I did two months ago, because, heck, anatomy problems galore.

This post was a wee bit longer than I had wanted, so if you have read it all, thank you so much for taking the time. I’m already back at university, but I’ve got a lot of posts lined up and I’ll do my best to reply to comments whenever I can.

Thank you all for your support this month! All of you are wonderful and I appreciate every single of you.

So friends, tell me…

  • How was your July? Did you do anything exciting?
  • Did you read any good books over July? What were they? Do you have any recommendations?
  • Do you buy merch from Society6 or Redbubble? What do you usually buy?
  • Did you post a monthly recap too? If so, feel free to leave a link and I’ll be sure to drop by and leave a comment!
25 thoughts on “July Monthly Recap: On art commissions and opening a Society6

  1. Ooh CW, I’ll be on board for both those recommendations posts and the self-critique one! I love self critiquing myself LMAO I do it every day, every time I open my drawing file.

    I love the corgis you draw! They make my day, every day. AND ISNT WANT THE BEST. Hope you have a great August!

    • Hehe thanks Aila! I love self-critique too. I actually sat down one afternoon and annotated my very old art. πŸ˜‚ It helped a lot and made me realize I still have a long way to go in terms of improvement. But I’ll get there, hopefully.

  2. OMG I COULD HAVE THE CORGIS ON EVERYTHING! I need to calm down….I’ll be waiting when you open your store ;) But also commissions will be on the radar, although I am not an author or writer (except of poetry).

  3. So…. I kind of want you drawing my WIP characters now? Ahah. I love the corgis you draw so, so much, they are absolutely adorable and, let’s be honest, I will probably spend all of my money on your store once you open it. Personally, I’m a huge fan of mugs and notebooks! :)
    I’ll be looking forward to your new posts, especially the recommendations! :D
    Have a lovely month! <3 <3

    • Aw Marie! I’d be honoured to draw your WIP characters once art commissions are open!
      Oh gosh! I’m glad you love them. I’m trying to draw more but am not very creative with poses! But I’ll be sure to have a good variety of corgis before I open my shop. πŸ’›
      Thank you Marie, as always. Have a lovely August too!

  4. I AM SO EXCITED FOR THE CORGI WALLPAPERS OMG! And I think I’d be likely to purchase either mugs or pillowcases but mugs are the more likely bet! I can’t wait to see more from your art CW and I love your art and how you’re using it for such positive and uplifting purposes!

    • Hi Anisha!
      Aw thank you so so much for the support! I had no idea that pillowcases were so popular, but now I’m considering selling them. I like mugs too! I might even buy a mug for myself. πŸ˜‚
      Thank you! I can’t wait too tbh, even if that sounds weird. I can’t wait to find some time to draw for myself again. 😭

  5. your corgis wallpapers are what i’ll be waiting for in august!! *squeals*
    anyways, july was a really good month for me, aaaand august reminds me of school because it’s coming closer and I DON’T WANT THAT.
    i love all of your art and i can’t wait to see moooore!! <3

    • Hi Maha! πŸ’›
      Haha yay! I’m looking forward to releasing them, though I want to draw one more so it’s nice and even (I’ll have four wallpapers rather than three. πŸ˜…)
      I’m glad you had a good July. πŸ’› Ahhh oh no! Well, enjoy your holidays the most you can!

  6. YOUR ART IS SO BEAUTIFUL <3 Can't wait to see more. And I love the idea of prioritising marginalised authors/writers. As for July, it went way too quickly and I'm NOT prepared to go back to uni (today, actually *sob*).

    • Hi Emily!
      Aw, thank you so so much. πŸ’› Tbh I can’t wait too – if only uni didn’t get in the way. 😭
      Oh no! My first day back was last week so I know how you feel. Well, all the best for your first week back. I hope things go smoothly!

  7. I would love to buy all of your inspirational corgis as prints and hang them on my wall. I love corgis and I really need the positive reinforcement, so they’re perfect for my life. :)

    • Hi Lauren!!
      Aw, thank you! Now to decide which — but I’ll probably end up going with both in the end.
      Thank you! I still have a long way to go in terms of improvement, but day by day, I guess? πŸ’›

  8. I’d DEFINITELY buy a mug (and everything else if I have the money haha) with one of your corgis on it (I LOVE THEM THEY’RE SO CUTE 10/10 GOOD BOY WOULD PAT) if my financial situation at the moment allows it haha. I’m sure lots of others feel the same way though, I mean, look at those corgis?? And those cute cacti you posted on Twitter?? If I had the money I’d buy all the merch with all the art

    • AW, that means the world to me, Michelle! I totally understand the financial thing though, so NO pressure at all, okay?! πŸ’› Your support is amazing enough.
      Awww, thank you! I’m thinking of selling the cacti as stickers on Redbubble (since S6 doesn’t have stickers!) so we’ll see!!

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

