What I’m Currently Reading: Three books and unlike anything I’ve read before

Hello friends! How are you today? I’m pretty excited myself to share with you the first post of my new feature!

I love giving recommendations, and although I do have my monthly book recommendation posts, I also thought it’d be cool to do a feature where I tell you my current thoughts about the books that I am currently reading.

As the title suggests, What I’m Reading is where, every once in awhile, I’ll share and tell you all about the awesome books that I’m currently reading (and engage in not-so-subtle book-pushing), especially since I read more than one book at a time. I’ll share my thoughts, who recommended this book to me or what review spurred me to pick this up, and other thoughts that spring to mind!

To describe the three books I am currently reading, they’re all books that are quite unlike anything I usually read or have read before. One is a new adult novel, one is a sci-fi (but is different to the others sci-fi worlds I’ve read!), and another has a very unreliable narrator and has bamboozled most of its readers (based on the Goodreads reviews). Moreover, it’s nearly the end of the month and I’ll be returning to university next week, so I’m trying to squeeze in all my reading before I have to go back.

So, without further ado, here are the books that I’m currently reading!


THE KING OF BOURBON STREET BY THEA DE SAILE

Genre: Adult erotica, romance

Recommended by: Fadwa and Cam

What made me pick this up: The high, high, high praises for this! And because I was… am(!)… curious. 😶

Progress: 20%

My thoughts so far:

  • The writing is fantastic. It’s a little tongue-in-cheek, very sensual, and it’s just beautifully written.
  • Look, I’m almost convinced now that all other erotica books and smut I’ve read before The King of Bourbon Street were terribly written.
  • I love the characters so far; the characterizations are lovely and I am really enjoying the fat rep.
  • Maybe I can’t read this at any hour of the day, but I’m enjoying the characters and the writing so far.

Goodreads


CHAMELEON MOON BY ROANNA SYLVER

Genre: Young adult, science-fiction

Recommended by: Laura and Sinead

What made me pick this up: I’ve heard that not only is the rep in this book awesome, but that it was an amazing story too.

Progress: 5% – barely started!

My thoughts so far:

  • I picked this up and started reading this knowing absolutely nothing about the book. I was a little confused at first, but it gained its momentum relatively early on.
  • The characters are so intriguing so far. I don’t know much about them, but I’m keen to learn more about them.
  • The writing is so atmospheric and so… immersive. I can’t explain it! I know this is a world totally different to others I’ve read, but I’m really interested to see how it’ll play out.

Goodreads


THE SMALLER EVIL BY STEPHANIE KUEHN

Genre: Young adult, psychological thriller(?), mystery

Recommended by: No one. 😅

What made me pick this up: I loved Kuehn’s other books such as Complicit and Delicate Monsters so I wanted to read her latest!

Progress: 21%

My thoughts so far:

  • So far, I have to say that The Smaller Evil is Kuehn’s strangest book so far. I mean, I’m proud(ish) to say that I got her other books, but I haven’t quite figured this out yet. It’s still early though, but I’m intrigued to see how this book will development.
  • The narrator (told in first person) is an unreliable narrator. I haven’t read a book with an unreliable narrator in awhile, so I’m particularly interested to see how this will go.
  • At the moment… I’m guessing this is about a cult?? A scam?? I have no clue. It’s all a little creepy though and I’ve yet to decide if it’s a good-creepy or bad-creepy.

Goodreads


And there you have it! I’m not far in on any of the books I’m reading, but I’m pretty excited to read more – when I get a breather! I also finished Coffee Boy yesterday, which was such a great book.

Let’s discuss!

  • So friends, what are you currently reading?
  • Are you enjoying the books you are reading so far? Not enjoying them so much? What are your thoughts?
  • What do you plan on reading once you finish your current reads?
23 thoughts on “What I’m Currently Reading: Three books and unlike anything I’ve read before

  1. I’m currently reading What I Though Was True, Bad Romance and The Sin-Eater’s dauther. Some of these sound really interesting. I’m not really into erotica, but I have heard a lot about the King of Bourbon Street series recently. And the smaller evil sounds pretty intriguing too. The Sin-Eater’s Daughter is sort of strange; I don’t know if I really care about the characters, but WITWT is a nice summery contemporary, and I’m liking Bad Romance so far for the female friendship and the second person paast tense writing. I have The Mime Order and Essential maps for the lost lined up next.

    • Hi Shanti!
      Ah oh dear! I know the feeling. I felt that way about The Smaller Evil before I decided to DNF it. Is it getting better so far?
      I’m glad that Bad Romance has some great female friendships! I love seeing them in fiction. I don’t often see books that are written in second person tense; how are you finding it? Would you recommend it?

  2. How lovely that you’re reading Chameleon Moon! The second book just increases the awesomeness of this series even more!!! I’ll be interested in hearing how you liked it once you finish it.

    I’m reading Bilder von Ihr, a German novel about a lesbian woman and it is so effing slow, but it’s getting more interesting now. I’m also reading Beyond Trans: Does Gender Matter, which is a non-fiction book that describes possible solutions to transantagonism and gender discrimination. I’m not a huge non-fiction reader, so I’m kind of slow with this book as well. :D

    • Hey Sinead! I’m enjoying Chameleon Moon so far, but I find it quite heavy and hard to read for more than 30 minutes (in saying that, I hardly ever read for more than an hour straight). I’m pleased to hear that the series gets better! It gives me something to look forward to.

      Ooh, it sounds like you’re reading some very interesting books, albeit a little different to what you may read (like my books right now)! How are you finding Beyond Trans: Does Gender Matter? That’s a topic I would love to read more about.

      • I’m enjoying it a lot. I was kind of annoyed at the beginning because the author really bashes a lot of ideas that I held before. He has a lot of good criticism about current ideas and I’ve really started to think about things differently.

        In a way, it’s kind of good how he’s written the book because it makes people who are against social justice pick up the book because he makes it seem as though they will get arguments for their side. If that makes sense?

        • Yes, I totally understand what you mean. I think, even though it suffers from slower writing and can be annoying, I think such approaches are ultimately beneficial, especially to people who don’t know anything about the subject and want to learn. If they’re presented with material they can relate to and are familiar with, and can be guided through something from there, they’ll probably be more open to seeing a different perspective. So yes, that absolutely makes sense!

  3. It’s so great you’re going a bit outside of your comfort zone, I hope you’ll enjoy all of these books. I have been hearing SO much about The King of Bourbon Street recently, I can’t wait to hear your thoughts about that one :)

    • Hi Marie! It’s great right?! I have to admit, I’m finding it a wee challenging because I like being comfortable in my reading material, but it’s a good challenging, I think.
      I ended up DNF’ing The Smaller Evil… I might write a review about it soon, not sure yet!
      I’m REALLY enjoying The King of Bourbon Street though, I couldn’t stop reading it last night!

  4. I’ve heard so many great things about King of Bourbon Street, but I am not an erotica person. I’m glad you’re loving it, though! I’m also reading Chameleon Moon right now so I hope you love it!!

    • Hey Ceillie! To be honest, I’m not much of an erotica person either, but I think if there’s a book you want to try, it’d be the King of Bourbon Street. It’s really really well-written and the characters are great too (Though! There is a lot of sex.)
      Ooh how are you finding Chameleon Moon at the moment? I’m enjoying it but I find it quite dense so I can’t read it for more than 30 mins a time. ;-;

      • I don’t do so well reading sex scenes, so it’s a genre I’ll just enjoy vicariously for now. I’m glad it’s so great though! I am personally loving Chameleon Moon so far, though I agree there is a Lot happening. I’ve been unable to read it since I commented because work, but I love what I’ve read. And the author is a delight!

        • Ah of course! I totally respect that. 💛
          Haha yes! A lot is happening indeed, and I feel like we’re given breadcrumbs – which isn’t a bad thing, but it feels rather slowww right now.
          I haven’t talked to RoAnna but I am certain that she is!

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

