Welcome to Read Think Ponder v.3!

Hi everyone! ๐Ÿ˜˜ย I am back!

I am so happy and so relieved to finally launch my blog’s new look. I worked super hard on this, and, for once, I finally feel like I’ve designed a blog look that isย distinctly me. I hope you all like it, and I can’t wait to start blogging again.

My time away from my blog allowed me to think a lot about what sort of book blogger I wanted to be and what sort of content I wanted to produce. So, with this revamp, there will be some changes — and stay tuned, because there’s a giveaway as well!

What hasn’t changed

But, before going over what has changed, these are the things that willย notย change:

  • I will still be reviewing books. Once again, I’ve fallen back on my backlog, so rather than tackling the backlog, I’ll prioritize newer book reviews first.
  • I will continue to do my best and advocate for diversity in YA and MG books. That means I will prioritize reviewing and promoting diverse books.
  • I will still be doing my Book Recommendations, and will be prioritizing recommending diverse books. As you can see in my new title, book recommendations will become a staple to my blog’s content as well as reviews.
  • I’ll still be doing Monthly Recaps!ย 

I’ve come to realize that I enjoy the first three things the most, so they will be the core things that make upย Read Think Ponder.

Things I will no longer be doing

  • I will no longer be doingย Diversity Spotlight Thursdays. I really enjoyed doing this and I liked doing the weekly themes, but looking back at my blog’s old content, the Spotlight started to outweigh my reviews. So for a stranger visiting my blog for the first time, I want them to seeย reviewsย andย book recs more.
  • For a brief period, I did Festive Book Recommendations.ย Though I think it’s still a good idea, I need to take a step back and stop putting things on my plate. Thoughย the page will stay up, I will be discontinuing this feature.
  • I won’t be writing as many discussion posts anymore. In the past, I made an effort to write at least once a month, but I think my interests have shifted to art now. If I feel like I have to write about something, I will! Other than that, discussion posts will no longer be a big part of my blog.
  • I will no longer be doing the art I’ve always done for reviews, such as the ones found on this page,ย as I would like to focus more on character art.

New things!

And now, for the more exciting stuff.

  • I’ve created new post banners that fit my blog’s current look and theme! I’m really excited to share them, and I expect you’ll see them either on my Instagram or when I use them in my posts!
  • I’ll be adding a feature calledย What I’m Reading – and it’s as the title suggests. I think this would be a great way for me to talk about books I am currently reading, what I think about them, and also gauge how others feel about it too. Furthermore, talking about books, even with simple posts, will give books more exposure! Whether this is weekly or fortnightly – I haven’t decided yet.
  • I’ll be having a new feature calledย Art-ish Thingsย (yes… I’m terrible with names). I hope to talk about what I’m drawing, fanart I love from other artists (hopefully!), WIPs, or anything art-related.

Giveaway time!

To celebrate my blog’s revamp (and to also celebrate my blog’s fourth anniversary last monthย andย reaching 1500 followers on Twitter), I’ll be doing a giveaway! As much as I would have loved to giveaway books, I promise I’ll do a giveaway when I am not a student and employed again.

Instead, I will be giving away my art!ย โค

Please bear with me while I go over the important guidelines and I do apologize that they are long.

  • Two individuals winners will be chosen and each will receive ONE artwork done by me.
  • Winners are chosen at random by Rafflecopter.
  • The giveaway will end on the 20th July 2017 at 11:59PM NZT (New Zealand Time).
  • Winners of the giveaway will be contacted by email addresses provided and/or Twitter. If no response is received within 48 hours, another winner will be selected at random. Winners must advise what they would like an artwork ofย beforeย the 22nd July 2017, 11:59PM NZT (New Zealand Time).
  • The artwork can either be a portrait of you or a character of your choice, and will have a plain coloured/simple patterned ย background.
  • The artwork I draw for you is for your personal useย only. You may not sell or reproduce my art or claim that it is yours. If it is possible to give credit or link to my Instagram, please do so.
  • I reserve all rights to my art, and, with your permission, may share the artwork on my Instagram, Twitter, or this blog.
  • I reserve the right to accept or decline your art request.ย I will not draw anything that is explicit, whether it be violent or sexual, in nature.
  • If you do not like the first piece of artwork that I produce for you, I will redo the artworkย once only.ย You may not use the artwork that you reject.
  • By entering the giveaway, you accept and agree to all of these giveaway guidelines.

THIS GIVEAWAY HAS NOW ENDED. THANK YOU FOR PARTICIPATING!


Well, that’s it for today. What a post! I look forward to this new start to Read Think Ponder… I have a great great feeling about it.

Have a lovely day, everyone.ย โœจ

79 thoughts on “Welcome to Read Think Ponder v.3!

  1. Iโ€™m excited for the new(ish) direction of your blog. I also think a giveaway of your art is way better than books. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hello Jean, thank you so much! I’m very excited too, and I have a very good feeling about this change. ๐Ÿ’›
      Aw, thank you! I was worried people would be disappointed that there weren’t any books, but I’m super glad to hear that.

  2. OMG. CUTENESS OVERLOAD.

    I didn’t know you had IG???? I am awful. I have followed you and am currently cooing over the beautiful beverage drawings.

    Also *high-five* for relaunching our blogs sort-of together! I will be haunting this page for the giveaway to go live ;D

    • Aw Alyssa, thank you SO much! ๐Ÿ’›
      Hahaha yes! Don’t feel awful! I’m glad you found it and you like my boba drawings!

      The giveaway is live already! I messed it up initially but it’s fixed now!

  3. AWWW CW I LOVE IT SO MUCH!!!!!! I love seeing how much you’ve progressed with your art. Like you’ve always been FAB, but you can just see how hard you’ve worked???

    I am so so so excited for all the changes with your blog too. Can’t wait for more posts โ™ฅโ™ฅ

    • Lauren, thank you so so much! And AH thank you, I’m so happy with how I’ve improved over the last few months, so I am very pleased. Thank you so SO much, this means the absolute WORLD to me because I did work hard and *sobs* I love you. ๐Ÿ’›
      I’m so excited too! I can’t wait to see where my blog and I will go in the future.

  4. Your art is amaze! Congrats on your 4th anniversary! and twitter milestone :D I moved away from discussion posts as a must too, it’s so much smoother when I write them on a whim and made me enjoy them a lot more :)

    • Casey, thank you so so much for your congrats and kind words!
      Ah, I totally agree with you. My worst discussion posts were the ones that I had to ‘force’ myself to write, so if there’s anything to write, I’ll be there! If not, then I won’t bother!

  5. AHHH I LOVE YOUR NEW BANNER!!! IT’S SO CUTE!!! Also I really love how you included those books!!! Haha they reminded me that I really need to dive into Epic Crush!!! (argh sorry for the exclamation mark overuse, haha….) Also do you have a bloglovin for you’re blog??? I’d love to follow but I couldn’t find a link?

    • Janani, thank you so much! It makes *perfect* sense, and tbh, is the highest praise I can receive. Thank you so much. ๐Ÿ’›
      I’m looking forward to it too! Can’t wait to see how my blog and I grow and develop in the future. Thank you so much for all of your support!

  6. I’m so glad that you’re going to be blogging again! I’m really looking forward to you new posts and I LOVE how you’ve designed the banner. It looks adorable and book nerdy, which is just the right aesthetic.

    • Hi Sinead, thank you so much!
      Aw, thank you for your kind comment about my book art! I’m sad I won’t be doing them anymore, because I’d like to focus on character art, but I am proud of what I did before discontinuing them. I’m glad that you like them. ๐Ÿ’› Thank you for your support, Sinead! I appreciate it!

  7. YAYY for the blog revamp and banner!! *twirls* I love it! And I can tell how much heart you put into it :D

    I especially can’t wait to see all the art you post <3 you know I'm always here for that! AND THIS GIVEAWAY THO IM *runs not walks to enter* LMAOO

    • Aila! Thank you so so much, and YES oh gosh, I put my heart into it. I’m sooo happy that you see it – though I expect nothing less from a fellow artist, hehe. ๐Ÿ’›
      I want to thank you so much for what you’ve done for me. I really thought about it today and I think you are the person who inspired me to get back into art. I’m not sure if you remember our DM conversation, but it was *you* that encouraged me to draw again. And now I’m here, and I remember now that art is my passion. Thank you so so much Aila. You have changed my life in a way I’ve yet to comprehend. ๐Ÿ’›

    • Hi Tasya! Thank you so much for the lovely welcome back!
      I’m a little sad to let my discussions go, but I’m very excited for the art too! (And thank you!) Thank you for all of your support. ๐Ÿ’› I always love your comments on my blog.

  8. This so aesthetically gorgeous! Evolving as a book blogger and also as a reader is something I have gone through a couple of times as well, and it took me a while to find the rhythm and blog style (design, content, etc.) that suited me the best as in individual content creator and contributor to the bookish community. I’m very happy to hear that you’ve found something that works the best for you. I will miss the Diversity Spotlight Thursdays, but I’m even more eager and excited about all of the ways your blog will be changing, as well as holding on to things that you enjoy the most. โ™ฅ

    • Hi Neha! Thank you so much for your kind words. And YES, you totally understand me! I’ve grown so much as a blogger over the years, but I feel like where I am now and with my blog’s latest revamp is where I *want* to be. I’m very happy and excited.
      Ah gosh, thank you so much for all of your support; I really appreciate it. ๐Ÿ’›

    • Hi Alice! Oh gosh, thank you so much; I’m so glad you like it. I’m excited to share my new content too, and seeing where my blog and I will go in the future. Thank you for your support! ๐Ÿ’›

  9. /cries/ I am SO HAPPY that you’re back, CW! (I didn’t think you would stop blogging on RTP, to be honest.) And I love, love your new blog look. It’s so cute and pretty and functional. (If I ever self host, I would totally want you and Aentee to help design my blog.) ^.^

    Also, congratulations on 4 years! What a feat! Thank you for the giveaway as well. (Tbh, I never enter book giveaways because I can buy books myself. WHILE this is so gold. I’m keeping my fingers crossed. Oh and I can’t believe you mentioned you’d redo the art once if the winner doesn’t like it; you didn’t have to do that! I’m sure the winners will love your work.)

    Again, glad to see you’ve returned. <3 <3

    • Summer! Oh goodness, thank you so so much. Hehe I didn’t think I’d stop too. I love books and book blogging WAY too much to give it up, even if it’s frustrating sometimes!
      Oh gosh, that would be an honour! Let me know if you ever do that, okay? It would be a privilege to draw something for you – if my schedule allows, of course.

      It’s my pleasure! I’ve received so much positive feedback for my art, so I guess this is my way of giving back, even if there are only two winners. (If I could, I’d take EVERY request. *sobs*)

      Thank you so much for your lovely words, Summer, and thank you for all of your support over the years. I appreciate it and you so much. ๐Ÿ’›

  10. I love your header so much and I will be looking forward to the new ART feature.I have seen your instagram and your art looks so good.Welcome back!

    • Hi Deepika!
      Oh gosh, thank you so much for your kind words! I hope to improve and learn how to draw a little faster so I can produce more awesome work and share with everyone. Thank you so much for your support and the lovely welcome back! ๐Ÿ’›

  11. Welcome back and congratulations on both your fourth blogging anniversary and reaching 1500 Twitter followers! Loving the new look and your art, omg, it’s amazing. That new header is super cute! ๐Ÿ’—

    I’m a bit sad that the discussion posts are gone because I think you write some of the most insightful and thought-provoking discussions ever, but I totally get the feeling when your interests shift because boooy, they take a LOT of effort to write. (And this said by someone who opts to do “easier” discussion topics too, so I’m imagining that yours must be super difficult, so major props.)

    All that said, I’m super, super excited to see what else you have in store for us, CW! Your blog is one of my favourites and tbh no matter what you do I’ll likely just love it. ๐Ÿ˜˜

    • Hi Reg! Thank you so so much for the lovely welcome back and your kind words. ๐Ÿ’› Hehe, I’m glad you like the header! I’m really relieved to have finally created something that finally feels like me, especially since I really struggled with this.

      I’m a little sad too, but thank you for understanding. That’s one of the biggest reasons actually – it takes SO much energy to write them, which I don’t mind, but I feel like I spend more time on my chair thinking than writing when I do discussion posts. I like being locomotive in my work (if that makes sense), so I think it’ll be better for me!

      Aw Reg, thank you SO SO much. You’re one of my absolute faves and I’m glad to rejoin the blogging community (and actually be blogging!). Thank you so much for all of your support over the year(s?)! ๐Ÿ’›

  12. Welcome back to blogging, lovely! Congratulations on your fourth year of blogging and on the twitter followers, this is incredible and so well-deserved. You are one of my favorite bloggers of all times and I am so happy to see you coming back full force, with such a stunning new design, one that looks like you for sure, I love it so much <3
    I'm eager to read all of your new blog posts and see what's going to become of your blog. Especially eager to see all of the new artsy things, you are so talented! <3 <3
    Thank you so much for the great giveaway – I already said this before but it is definitely awesome and just as great as books, if not better. Your art is so stunning <3 <3

    • Marie! Thank you so so much for the congrats and your kind words. ๐Ÿ’› AW oh my goodness, you’re going to make me cry. I’m so glad I met you through blogging, and I’m so thankful for your kind and beautiful spirit.
      Aw, thank you! I can’t wait to share my future work as well, and I’m looking forward to see how I will grow in this way.
      It’s my pleasure! I am beginning to think I might do monthly giveaways with my art, but we’ll see! Thank you so much for your support and EVERYTHING, my dearest friend. ๐Ÿ’›

      • MONTHLY giveaways?! Yes please. No pressure here ahah :) I’m just really excited to see you talking more about art and see more of your art on your blog. It’s such a big part of you and who you are, I’m eager to see this aspect more, I’m sure it will be fantastic! :)

  13. Welcome back!! Love, love, love the new design. It’s so cute and the banner is amazing. Congrats on reaching your fourth year of blogging and on the twitter followers. That’s such an impressive milestone to reach. I can’t wait to see more of your art. :D

    • Hi Lois!
      Thank you so much for your kind words, and thank you for the congratulations! I can’t believe I’ve been blogging for so long now – it only feels like yesterday when I first started! ๐Ÿ’›
      Ah, thank you! I hope I’ll be able to draw some exciting and cool stuff. Thank you for your support!

  14. Welcome back!! <3 I adore your new design, it's sooo pretty! Your art is seriously amazing. :)
    Also, congratulations on the 4th year blogiversary and 1500 twitter followers! They are both such amazing achievements. I am really looking forward to your future posts and art that you decide to share with us! :)

    • Hi Anna! Thank you so much. ๐Ÿ’›
      Aw, that’s so kind of you. My art has been improving over the last few months, so I can’t wait to get even better.
      Thank you so much for the congrats. And me too – I look forward to sharing what I have prepared and will write/draw with everyone! Thank you for your support. ๐Ÿ’›

    • Aw Jeann, thank you so so much! I feel like it feels like me too, which is such a big relief because that’s something I’ve always struggled with my blog layouts.
      Thank you for your support, as always! ๐Ÿ’›

    • Anisha! Thank you so so much! ๐Ÿ’›
      I’m so glad you like the banner. I like it too – for once! – and I’m definitely excited to start posting my new content! Thank you so much for supporting me, you are the sweetest.

  15. Love what youโ€™ve done with your space and Iโ€™m glad youโ€™re featuring your art on here! Hopefully one day youโ€™ll announce that youโ€™re taking on commissions!:D

    • Hi Aj!
      Aw, thank you so so much! I’m glad too, I think it’s finally *me* and I’m very pleased about that.
      I hope so too! I look forward to the day; I think I’ll have a lot of fun when those days come.
      Thanks so much for your support, AJ!

    • Hello Emily!
      Thank you so so much! I’m glad that you like my style; that’s such a lovely thing to hear. Thank you! I cannot wait to draw more and share it with everyone. Thank you so much for your support!

    • Hello Helia!
      Thank you so so much! Aw, that means the world to me, and I’m happy that my art can bring a smile to your face!
      Thank you so much for your support! I look forward to the future as well. :)

  16. I’ve been a Twitter follower for awhile and I’m sorry I’ve missed your blog! I love this look and look forward to reading your reviews and seeing more of your art, which is super cute, btw. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the banner especially and the book rainbow.

    • Hello Heather!
      No need to apologize at all! Thank you for visiting my blog, hehe.
      Aw, thank you so much! I look forward to sharing my work with everyone too. It’s going to be great!
      Hehe yes, I love the book rainbow, and I WISH I could have all of those books for real. Maybe one day?

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

