When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon – Perhaps the best YA rom-com I’ve read, ever

Summary:

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

I received a copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

My review:

This book made me remember what it was like to fall in love for the first time. 

This flawless debut has everything that you want in a romantic comedy: a gorgeous romance that will make you swoon (as I did, and believe me, the concept and act of swooning is very foreign to me), characters that you will adore, and, most importantly, a story with a big big heart. 

Meet Dimple: She’s fierce, ambitious, has her sights set on becoming a web developer, and, to the immense chagrin to her mother, is not interested in finding a IIH, or ‘Ideal Indian Husband’.

… Dimple found herself questioning them – and really, everything – all the time. Mamma often lamented that her first word had been “why.”

Then, there’s Rishi: he’s a little bit of a romantic, the filial son, and has been hiding his talent and passion from everyone.

[Rishi] didn’t want a million dramatic, heart-stoppingly romantic moments – he wanted just one long, sustainable partnership.

Both could not be more different, but when destiny (or, their well-meaning parents?) happens and when their two worlds collide, what follows is nothing short of delightful.

When Dimple Met Rishi may be a simple romantic-comedy, but it hits all the right spots too: fantastic character development, a fresh backdrop that will speak to your nerdy side, and explorations of family expectations, friendship, and love that will speak to anyone. The storytelling balances the thrill of first love with vulnerability, romance with friendship, spirit with tenderness. Altogether, Manon delivers a fantastic love story that is exciting, heartwarming, so much fun, and emotionally satisfying. My heart felt like it was bursting with love and joy by the end. Indeed, When Dimple Met Rishi is perhaps one of the best YA contemporaries I have ever had the pleasure of reading. 

And it’s true, everyone – When Dimple Met Rishi is laugh-out-loud funny. I mean, I know it says so in the synopsis, but my general rule in life is that marketing should be taken with a grain of salt. But when I was reading When Dimple Met Rishi, the humour didn’t induce these polite little ‘he-he-he‘-like giggles, they were bursts of embarrassing ‘HAAAAH!!’s that would make heads turn. When Dimple Met Rishi is absolutely hilarious; the humour was refreshing and the funny moments, especially the awkward ones, were charming and endearing.

I only finished this a few days ago, but already I can feel this book snuggle into a corner of my heart. Reading this book was such a unique and positive experience for me. Why? I said it earlier but I’ll say it again: this book made me remember what it was like to fall in love for the first time. It’s been quite awhile since then, but being able to relive that feeling – that tingly feeling you get in your stomach and fingers, the giddiness you feel when you see your loved one, and how your heart just swells. Reading When Dimple Met Rishi and experiencing that again? What an absolutely beautiful gift.

Thank you, Sandhya, from the bottom of my heart.

Rating: 5 / 5

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | My review on Goodreads


Is this book for you?

Premise in a sentence: Two Indian teens meet at a web development convention because their parents arranged for them to be married, though everything doesn’t go according to plan.

Perfect for: Readers who love contemporaries or want something that’ll met their heart.

Genre: Young adult, contemporary, romance

Recommended? Yes, a million times yes!


Let’s discuss!

  • Have you read When Dimple Met Rishi?
    • If yes, what did you think?
    • If not, I promise it’s going to be worth the wait? What are you excited about?
  • If I say ‘best romance ever!’, what book do you think of?
  • I read this book for #AsianLitBingo for the ‘Contemporary With Asian MC’ box! What are you reading for #AsianLitBingo?
15 thoughts on “When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon – Perhaps the best YA rom-com I’ve read, ever

  1. Ahh everyone has been raving on how amazing and funny this book is, I can’t wait to read it! I’m glad it met your expectations, I’ve yet to see any negative review for this book and it kinda make my expectations went through the roof!

  2. Such a beautiful review, as always <3 I haven't read this book just yet but it's very high on my TBR and since I LOVE contemporaries and these kind of stories, I'm so eager to get to it :)

  3. Fantastic review CW! :) This book sounds so wonderful, I am definitely going to pick up a copy. I love it when a fictional romance makes you feel that way, and I need more funny books in my life. :D

  4. YES! This is probably my most highly anticipated releases of the summer so I’m beyond happy that it is CW-approved. I’m really excited to buy my own copy soon. Also, I have to say that I love the cover for this book! The model is so pretty and I love that she looks like she’s smiling so naturally. I can already imagine myself liking Dimple a lot. ^.^

    Wonderful review, CW!

    Summer

  5. I’m so so so glad you enjoyed this! I finished it recently and I loved it. It’s easily one of the best contemporary’s I’ve ever read😍! Rishi was just the cutest. He was beyond sweet. I loved how funny this book was as well. Like the first scene where Dimple and Rishi met 😂, I was literally laughing out loud throughout the whole book! Great review 💖

  6. OH MY GOD CW SO GOOD TO HEAR YOU ENJOYED THIS! I loved loved loved this too (which you already know) and I’m so glad lots of other people are enjoying this too! It was so well written and I just want to scream because GAHH SO GOOD!

  7. I’ve heard nothing but great things about this book and how cute and wonderful it is, so I am so glad to see you enjoyed it so much too! And your ringing endorsements make me even more excited to read it! (How could I resist when you’re calling it the best YA rom-com you’ve ever read?!” Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! <3

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

