Diversity Spotlight Thursday #12 – Non-Western Settings

diversity-spotlight

Welcome to my twelfth Diversity Spotlight Thursday! This wonderful weekly blog meme was created and is hosted by Aimal at Bookshelves and Paperbacks! For more information about the meme, please read the announcement post here.

My participation in this meme is to help me with one of my reading goals: to read books with a variety of perspectives, especially ones different from my own. Every two weeks I will share with you:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

I wanted to do a theme for this week’s Diversity Spotlight – so this week’s theme is: books with a non-Western setting!

divider3

A Book I Have Read

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova

Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can’t trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange marks on his skin.

The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland…

divider2

I read this book for Latinx History Month in 2016, and I was truly blown away by this book. Though I had an appreciation for diversity then, it was only after reading this book did I realize that, yes, diversity can be about locating your identity within books, but it can also mean reading about other experiences, learning, and immersing yourself in another perspective and identity outside of your own experience – especially if the book is #ownvoices.

Labyrinth Lost introduced me to such a world – it was the first time I had ever read anything by a Latinx about a Latinx, and it was such a beautiful and wonderful experience. This book takes place mostly in Los Lagos, which is filled with beauty but danger.

Add this book on Goodreads or read my review

divider3

A Book On My TBR

Fire Boy by Sami Shah

Growing up in Karachi isn’t easy. Wahid has a lot on his mind: the girl he likes, mostly, but also choosing a good university and finding time to play Dungeons and Dragons. Oh, and the fact that he can see djinns, other-worldly creatures made of a smokeless and scorching fire. After a horrific car accident kills his best friend and djinns steal his girlfriend’s soul, Wahid vows to find out why. Fortunately, he has help in finding the djinns that tried to kill him. Unfortunately, that help is from the darkest of all spirits, the Devil himself …

divider2

This book was recommended by Aimal (the creator of this tag!), and this is her review for Fire Boy (which you all absolutely need to read)!

A book set in Pakistan (and thinking about it, I’ve never read a book set in Pakistan before)! An urban fantasy! Has horror elements! Okay, I may not be the biggest fan of horror but… this story sounds incredible. I am really looking forward to seeing this.

Add this book on Goodreads

divider3

A Book That Hasn’t Been Released Yet

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie Dao

Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her. Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng’s majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high?

Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins–sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute.

divider2

Okay, I’m going to be honest. This was my #1 most anticipated debut of 2017. And I was not a fan of the cover, at all.

BUT, I read the full synopsis and thought. Well. Holy heck. Who cares! The summary looks amazing and I just – I just can’t wait. I cannot wait to read this book and explore Dao’s East-Asian fantasy.

Add this book on Goodreads

divider3

Hooray, another Diversity Spotlight Thursday! I will be posting my next spotlight on the 18th of May!

  • Are you interested in reading any of these books? 😊 Which one and why?
  • Have you read any of these books yet? If yes, what do you think? Should I be excited?
  • Did you participate in Diversity Spotlight Thursday this week? If so, please share your link with me! I’d love to see your three choices!
8 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #12 – Non-Western Settings

  1. Forest Of a Thousand Lanterns sounds so amazing – I recently discovered this book and I’m so, so impatient to read it. Lovely post, as always! <3

    • Hi Marie!
      Ahh yay, I’m so glad you’re excited to read it! One of my friends already got an ARC of the book and she said she loved it, so I’m even MORE excited now. <3

      Thank you so much!!

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

