Diversity Spotlight Thursday #10 – Bisexual Protagonists

diversity-spotlight

Welcome to my tenth Diversity Spotlight Thursday! This wonderful weekly blog meme was created and is hosted by Aimal at Bookshelves and Paperbacks! For more information about the meme, please read the announcement post here.

My participation in this meme is to help me with one of my reading goals: to read books with a variety of perspectives, especially ones different from my own. Every two weeks I will share with you:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

I wanted to do a theme for this week’s Diversity Spotlight – so this week’s theme is: books with bisexual protagonists!

divider3

A Book I Have Read

Not Your Sidekick by C.B. Lee

Welcome to Andover… where superpowers are common, but internships are complicated. Just ask high school nobody, Jessica Tran. Despite her heroic lineage, Jess is resigned to a life without superpowers and is merely looking to beef-up her college applications when she stumbles upon the perfect (paid!) internship—only it turns out to be for the town’s most heinous supervillain. On the upside, she gets to work with her longtime secret crush, Abby, who Jess thinks may have a secret of her own. Then there’s the budding attraction to her fellow intern, the mysterious “M,” who never seems to be in the same place as Abby. But what starts as a fun way to spite her superhero parents takes a sudden and dangerous turn when she uncovers a plot larger than heroes and villains altogether.

divider2

In case you missed it, Not Your Sidekick is one of my favourite books of all time. It has the most adorable story, a gorgeous and loveable protagonist and love interest, the cutest and most precious friendships, explores heroism, subverts the superhero narrative, and also explores identity and belonging on the side! Yeah, it’s that awesome.

Also, the protagonist, Jess, is bisexual, and it is stated in-text. Did I also mention that the romance in this is amazing?

Add this book on Goodreads, or read my review

divider3

A Book On My TBR

Ash by Malinda Lo

In the wake of her father’s death, Ash is left at the mercy of her cruel stepmother. Consumed with grief, her only joy comes by the light of the dying hearth fire, rereading the fairy tales her mother once told her. In her dreams, someday the fairies will steal her away, as they are said to do. When she meets the dark and dangerous fairy Sidhean, she believes that her wish may be granted.

The day that Ash meets Kaisa, the King’s Huntress, her heart begins to change. Instead of chasing fairies, Ash learns to hunt with Kaisa. Though their friendship is as delicate as a new bloom, it reawakens Ash’s capacity for love-and her desire to live. But Sidhean has already claimed Ash for his own, and she must make a choice between fairy tale dreams and true love.

divider2

It’s ridiculous, but I haven’t read any of Malinda Lo’s books yet. (I know, right?!) I’ve heard mixed things about this book, but there’s something about the synopsis that makes me feel like I’ll love it.

I also love retellings that do more than make the story ‘darker’ – give me retellings where the protagonist is a character of colour or is non-heterosexual/cis. Ash sounds like the sort of retelling that I’ll love.

Add this book on Goodreads

divider3

A Book That Hasn’t Been Released Yet

27 Hours by Tristina Wright

Rumor Mora fears two things: hellhounds too strong for him to kill, and failure. Jude Welton has two dreams: for humans to stop killing monsters, and for his strange abilities to vanish.

But in no reality should a boy raised to love monsters fall for a boy raised to kill them.

Nyx Llorca keeps two secrets: the moon speaks to her, and she’s in love with Dahlia, her best friend. Braeden Tennant wants two things: to get out from his mother’s shadow, and to unlearn Epsilon’s darkest secret.

They’ll both have to commit treason to find the truth.

During one twenty-seven-hour night, if they can’t stop the war between the colonies and the monsters from becoming a war of extinction, the things they wish for will never come true, and the things they fear will be all that’s left.

divider2

Well. Holy hell. Every time I read the synopsis for 27 Hours, I feel this bubbling excitement build. The world within the book, the story, and the characters (which features queer teens!) make me inclined to believe that this book is something I will definitely be looking forward to in October.

Add this book on Goodreads

divider3

Hooray, another Diversity Spotlight Thursday! I will be posting my next spotlight on the 20th of April!

  • What are some of your favourite books that have a bi protagonist? Do you have any recommendations?
  • Have you read any of these books yet? If yes, what do you think?
  • Did you participate in Diversity Spotlight Thursday this week? If so, please share your link with me! I’d love to see your three choices!
25 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #10 – Bisexual Protagonists

  1. Not your sidekick <3 I'm so excited for Not your Villain!!
    I also haven't read anything by Malinda Lo yet but I really must! I heard mixed things but I feel I really need to read them anyway!
    Also very excited for 27 Hours *o*

    I've read somewhere that Beauty Queens by Libba Bray and Pantomime by Laura Lam have bisexual protagonist and they both are on my TBR! I actually plan on reading Pantomime this month!

    • Hi Lucille!
      Ahh yes yes! I can’t wait to read Not Your Villain. Bells was so wonderful in NYS, so <3

      I heard the same, but I really really want to read them for myself and discover why people love them!

      If my memory serves me right, I think Beauty Queens does have bisexual rep… but I could be wrong. It's a great book nonetheless – very very funny if you love satire!

      Ahhh I hope you enjoy Pantomime!!

  2. I really hope to read Not Your Sidekick sometime soon, I’m so impatient after everything you’ve been saying about this book I feel like I’ll love it
    Ash sounds SO interesting, and I love that cover – might add it to my TBR! Lovely post! :)

  3. This is list is pretty much everything I would’ve picked, aha. I loved Not Your Sidekick so much! I’m really excited for the sequel. And I’ve never read Ash either even though it’s been on my tbr foreveeeeer. And 27 Hours cannot come fast enough, I have very high hopes for that one.

    • Hi Sky!
      Ahhh yay! I’m so happy to hear someone enjoyed NYS as well! It’s such a great book. And YES I can’t wait to read Not Your Villain. ;-; I loved Bells, so I can’t wait to see more about him. <3

  4. I still haven’t got to Not Your Sidekick and I feel so bad whenever I see someone recommending it. I really have got to read it soon!

    I read Ash before I became more aware of the diversity movement in books. I loved it at the time and thought that the story writing was amazing.

    • Hi Sinead!
      Ohh I hope you read it soon! It’s so lovely and just AHH my feelings. If it is any motivation, it’s a very quick read? I think it took me a day and I usually NEVER finish a book in a day!

      Ooh that’s wonderful to hear about Ash! I can’t wait to read Malinda Lo’s books. :D

  5. Unfortunately, I’ve read hardly any books with bi protagonists, but Adaptation by Malinda Lo is a good one! (Ash was very disappointing, actually.) Love in the Time of Global Warming is another one, but the second book gets a bit transphobic and biphobic :( I’m bi myself, so it’s good to see there are SOME books with bi protags being released, even if there aren’t many.

    • Hi Alexandria!
      Ooh thanks for the recommendation! I’ll have to check out Adaptation by Malinda Lo. :)

      Ahhh yes, I heard from my friend that Love in the Time of Global Warming is a little problematic, so I don’t think I’ll pick up that one.

      I’m glad we’re seeing more bi protags too! We definitely need more, so people who are bi get the representation that they deserve. <3

  6. Labyrinth Lost and Noteworthy are two I’ve been able to read recently-ish. I’m SO EXCITED for 27 Hours! I didn’t know Ash has a bi protag so now I have another reason to read it. Excellent post!

    • Hey Kitty!
      Ooooh yes yes I really want to read Noteworthy!! Did you enjoy it? I heard it was really really good.

      I’m excited for 27 Hours too!! It sounds like it’ll be amaaaazing and the cover is gorgeous too. <3

      Thank you so much!

      • Oh my gosh yes! Noteworthy really is SO, SO GOOD! I can’t wait for you to be able to read it!! 💖

        I agree the cover for 27 Hours is absolutely gorgeous and I keep hearing how amazing it is while I sit with impatient anticipation. 😂❤️

  7. I need to check out Not Your Sidekick at some point, i’ve heard so many good things about it! I have Huntress by Malinda Lo which is the prequel to Ash, haven’t read it yet though. Looking forward to it and then Ash :) I am also looking forward to 27 Hours in October, it sounds like it’ll be a blast! Love this post! I am also doing Diversity Spotlight Thursday, my post this week is here http://wickedjr89sbookblog.blogspot.com/2017/04/diversity-spotlight-thursday-2.html

    • Hi Stephanie!
      Not Your Sidekick is such a lovely book! It’s my favourite book of all time. <3
      Oooh I had no idea that Huntress was a prequel to Ash! I suppose I have to read that first then. :D

      Thank you so much for the link! I'll visit yours now – thank you for stopping by. <3

    • Hi Ceillie!
      I haven’t heard of The Paths We Choose, but thank you for bringing it to my attention! Labyrinth Lost is gorgeous – I can’t wait to read Circle Unbroken. <3

      Ahhhhh I'm looking forward to reading The Seafarer's Kiss too! ;-; It sounds amazing, and everyone I know who is reading it loves it!

    • Hi Wendy!
      Hehe, thanks!! I remember someone telling me that they wanted to read more books with bi characters, so the idea goes entirely to her!
      27 Hours sounds amaaaazing, though I probably won’t be able to read it until Nov/Dec. SOBS. T_T

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

