Diversity Spotlight Thursday #6 – Indian Characters/Indian Mythology

diversity-spotlight

Welcome to my sixth Diversity Spotlight Thursday! This wonderful weekly blog meme was created and is hosted by Aimal at Bookshelves and Paperbacks! For more information about the meme, please read the announcement post here.

My participation in this meme is to help me with one of my reading goals: to read books with a variety of perspectives, especially ones different from my own. Every two weeks I will share with you:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

I wanted to do a theme for this week’s Diversity Spotlight – so this week’s theme is: books with Indian characters or based on Indian mythology.

divider3

A Book I Have Read

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

“Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most… including herself.”

divider2

I think this book is either a hit-or-miss for people, but for me, it was a hit. Though it took me awhile to get into the story partly attributed to the very purple prose, the writing does level out eventually and the story and world will pull you in.

The Indian-inspired world was incredible, and I loved how vivid and imaginative the worldbuilding was. No matter your opinion of The Star-Touched Queen, it is certainly a rare story in a setting we need to see more in young adult fiction, so I hope to see many more like it in the future! 💕

Add this book on Goodreads

divider3

A Book On My TBR

Born Confused by Tanuja Desai Hidier

“Dimple Lala doesn’t know what to think. Her parents are from India, and she’s spent her whole life resisting their traditions. Then suddenly she gets to high school and everything Indian is trendy. To make matters worse, her parents arrange for her to meet a “suitable boy.” Of course it doesn’t go well — until Dimple goes to a club and finds him spinning a magical web . Suddenly the suitable boy is suitable because of his sheer unsuitability. Complications ensue. This is a funny, thoughtful story about finding your heart, finding your culture, and finding your place in America.”

divider2

My lovely friend Glaiza recommended this book to me, and I have every intention to read it. Reading the summary, I feel like this is something I would really, really love and connect with. I’ll always love a story that explores belonging, especially when the characters are second-generation immigrants.

Add this book on Goodreads

divider3

A Book That Hasn’t Been Released Yet

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

“Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.”

divider2

If you haven’t heard of this book, add it to your TBR immediately!

As well as being one of my most anticipated books of 2017, When Dimple Met Rishi sounds like one hell of a gorgeous and adorable book. I’m very, very excited to read a YA novel that has Indian protagonists! I have such high hopes for this book, and I can’t wait to read it. This book releases on the 30th of May!

Add this book on Goodreads

divider3

Hooray, another Diversity Spotlight Thursday! I will be posting my next spotlight on the 9th of February!

  • Are you interested in reading any of these books? 😊 Which one and why?
  • Have you read any of these books yet? If yes, what do you think? Should I be excited?
  • Did you participate in Diversity Spotlight Thursday this week? If so, please share your link with me! I’d love to see your three choices!
29 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #6 – Indian Characters/Indian Mythology

  1. I’ve read TSTQ as well and for me it was more in-between! Loved the writing, but the story had quite a lot of loose ends and got confusing at times… although that could be just me totally losing my attention, haha. Still, I’m excited for what else Chokshi will come up with.

    And I am SO excited for When Dimple Met Rishi! Definitely one of my most anticipated reads for this year. 💕

    • Hey Reg!

      I totally know what you mean. I agree with the criticisms of the book, and I was a bit confused in some parts too.
      Me too! I’ll be interested to see if her narrative style changes with the protagonist? Either way, can’t wait to see more of her work too. ❤

  2. Great post, CW! I’m so excited for When Dimple Met Rishi as well. I’d heard of Born Confused once before, thanks for the reminder to put it on my TBR 😊 And ah I’m the same, I basically run towards any books with Asian immigrant protags. For example, I was a bit hesitant about The Sun is Also a Star in spite of all the praise because of the heavy romance/instalove focus, but when people brought up how well it depicted immigrant experiences I was like well fine then, I HAVE to read it now 😂

    • Hey Wendy!

      Me too!! I’m currently reading Born Confused, and it’s not bad! So many lovely and funny moments. :)

      Ooh I haven’t read The Sun Is Also A Star yet! I was a bit hesitant because I wasn’t a fan of Everything, Everything but I heard it’s a big step up. Can’t wait to read that one too! ❤

  3. I want to read When Dimple met Rishi SOOOO BAD!!! Ever since I’ve seen the cover for the first time, I knew I would have to get it. And then I just kept hearing more about the story and also a bit from the author and now I can’t get it out of my head. I don’t know many contemporaries about arranged marriages, so that really peaked my interest.

  4. Great post! I’m so excited for When Dimple Met Rishi, it’s one of the books I’m most looking forward to this year. I hope it lives up to my expectations!

  5. I hope The Star Touched Queen is a hit for me as well :) I can appreciate flowery prose and don’t mind romance too much. I’m glad I waited this long to read it, haha, since the sequel will be out soon!

    And omg, I just recently won a pre-order of When Dimple Met Rishi. Aahh, I couldn’t believe my luck. WDMR is also one of my Top 5 most anticipated books of the year. May 30th can’t come soon enough :D

    • Hi Naz!

      I hope it’s a hit for you too! I think, when you read it, to just let the story sweep you away and not to overthink it. I see it as a beautiful story like a fairytale first, rather than something intricate and complex (though that it is too)!

      AHHH you are so lucky!! I hope you enjoy WDMR! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it – I’m sure it’ll only make me more excited. ❤

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

