Diversity Spotlight Thursday #5

diversity-spotlight

Welcome to my fifth Diversity Spotlight Thursday! 💚 This wonderful weekly blog meme was created and is hosted by Aimal at Bookshelves and Paperbacks! For more information about the meme, please read the announcement post here.

My participation in this meme is to help me with one of my reading goals: to read books with a variety of perspectives, especially ones different from my own. Every two weeks I will share with you:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

This week’s theme for Diversity Spotlight Thursday is: books with m/m romances!

divider3

A Book I Have Read

Seven Tears at High Tide by C.B. Lee

“The sea holds many secrets …

Kevin Luong walks to the ocean’s edge with a broken heart. Remembering a legend his mother told him, he lets seven tears fall into the sea. “I just want one summer—one summer to be happy and in love.”

Instead, he finds himself saving a mysterious boy from the Pacific—a boy who later shows up on his doorstep professing his love. What he doesn’t know is that Morgan is a selkie, drawn to answer Kevin’s wish.

As they grow close, Morgan is caught between the dangers of the human world and his legacy in the selkie community to which he must return at summer’s end.”

divider2

I was recommended this book by Daisy, who also recommended me Lee’s other book, Not Your Sidekick! And wow, I was so glad to read this book. I love Lee’s writing, and though this isn’t about superheroes, it is about selkies, magical chances, and two lonely, sweet boys.

This book made me gush and giddy with joy. There’s something so sweet and pure about the narrative – it was just gorgeous fluff and love. If you like Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda and you like selkies… this book is for you.

Add this book on Goodreads | My review on Goodreads

divider3

A Book On My TBR

Timekeeper by Tara Sim

Two o’clock was missing.

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely. 

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors. 

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

divider2

I can’t say I’m a steampunk fan, but I’ve always, always been interested in it — maybe Timekeeper will be the book that will get me into steampunk or, at least, help me understand what it is as a subgenre.

I’ve heard wonderful things about this book so far. Not only does it have an m/m romance, I have also heard that it has bisexual representation and characters of colour, as well as characters with PTSD.

And I mean, read the summary! Clock spirits! A story about time! 💞 I look forward to reading this book and experience this book for myself!

Add this book on Goodreads

divider3

A Book That Hasn’t Been Released Yet

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

“Henry “Monty” Montague was born and bred to be a gentleman, but he was never one to be tamed. The finest boarding schools in England and the constant disapproval of his father haven’t been able to curb any of his roguish passions—not for gambling halls, late nights spent with a bottle of spirits, or waking up in the arms of women or men. 

But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quest for a life filled with pleasure and vice is in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

Still it isn’t in Monty’s nature to give up. Even with his younger sister, Felicity, in tow, he vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt that spans across Europe, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.”

divider2

I discovered this book recently when I was looking for a book – and wow.

Not only is the cover amazing and incredibly eye-catching (I… can’t look away?!), the premise sounds like a wild ride that I want to be on. (Monty, take the wheel!) I’m not big on the whole hedonism thing, but I’d love to see how Monty navigates his budding adoration for Percy in the midst of his grand tour which, as it sounds, goes disastrously wrong.

… Gah! The more I read the summary, the more I want to read this book! The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue releases on the 20th of June, 2017! (Only 159 days! 🙃)

Add this book on Goodreads

divider3

Hooray for the first Diversity Spotlight Thursday of 2017! I really love finding all these lovely books to share – I can’t wait to see what amazing, diverse books 2017 will bring! I will be posting my next spotlight on the 26th of January.

  • Are you interested in reading any of these books? Are any of these already on your TBR or books you’ve never seen before?
  • What are some of your favourite books with m/m romance (and have positive representation)?
  • Did you participate in Diversity Spotlight Thursday this week? If so, please share your link with me! I’d love to see your three choices!
23 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #5

    • Ahhhhh hi Marianne!

      I can’t wait to! The premise sounds amazing so I have a very good feeling. <3
      Seven Tears is m/m and it's SUPER cute. I think you'll love it! :D I hope you enjoy it if you get around to reading it!

  1. I love these posts from you! I added Seven Tears At High Tide to my TBR because I’ve never read a fiction selkie story, I’ve read fanfiction about it and it’s really cool so I hope it’s good.
    If you ever want to look deeper into Steampunk let me know because I’m a huge fan of the genre and have a lot of different recs, including adult books :D

  2. I had never heard about Seven Tears at High Tide, but it sounds amazing and I’m definitely adding it to my tbr. On the other hand, I have heard so much about The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue and I can’t wait to read it.

    I’m planning on joining diversity spotlight in the next couple of weeks, it looks like a fun meme to participate in.

    • Hi Sofia!

      Seven Tears is a wonderful, wonderful book and I cannot recommend it enough! If sci-fi/superheroes is more up your alley, try C.B. Lee’s other book called Not Your Sidekick! It’s amazing; one of my faves of 2016.

      I can’t wait to read The Gentleman’s Guide too! It sounds so fun, and a little angsty which I like, hehe.

      Ahh yay! I’m happy to hear that you’ll be joining us. I can’t wait to see your posts! <3

    • Hi Emily!

      AHHH GIRL you have to HAVE TO pick up one of her books (or both!) this year. <3 They are absolute must-reads and such fantastic books.

      Ooh, that's totally okay, but yess *fingers crossed!* If not, I'll be in the minority with you, so win-sortawin?

  3. This is such an amazing meme CW! And whoa I have never even heard of these books, which just goes to show how books like these are still not getting the attention they deserve.

  4. Pingback: Kiss, Marry, or Cliff Book Tag – The Book Raven

  5. Pingback: January Recap: Recentering on diverse reviews, on love, and Happy Lunar New Year! | Read, Think, Ponder

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

