My Promise as a Diverse Book Blogger

Hello my dearest friends.

I feel like the last few weeks have been rough. With the election results and all the subsequent events that have followed, there has been such an oppressive atmosphere of anger, fear, grief, and confusion – and justifiably so. I’m not in the US, but for the last few weeks, I’ve felt so much fear and worry for all my friends there. My time lately has involved quite a bit of self-care and checking up on my friends who have been affected – some afar and some closer to home. We live in such uncertain times. And I want all of you to know that I am always here for you – email me or DM me on Twitter if you ever need to talk. ❤

I have done a lot of reflection over the last few weeks. I have asked myself what I, as an individual, can do. And I’ve come to this: I may not be able to do a lot of things, but I can do small, little things to help create a safe and inclusive space that is welcoming to everyone that visits and interacts with my blog. I value you as individuals and fellow readers, I value your sense of safety. I care, and I will care always.

And so, as a diverse book blogger, I want to make some promises to you.

1. My blog will be a safe space for people of all marginalized identities.

I want to make this one of my highest priorities. With what is currently out there, I want to ensure that my blog is a safe space for everyone, especially to my friends with marginalized identities.

2. I will read more diverse books. 

With all the hateful and hurtful rhetoric going on lately, we need diversity in books more than ever. For me, reading diverse books is a form of resistance. I will continue to read books that explore a variety of identities, cultures, and ideas beyond my own experiences. I will continue to support authors of marginalized identities. I will continue to read their stories. I will continue to learn and empathize. I will continue to share them and amplify these voices.

3. I will promote and celebrate more diverse books.

Not only do I want to read books with protagonists with marginalized identities and read about them kicking butt and defeating monsters, but I want to promote them and celebrate them too. I still have 30 book reviews on queue (books I read earlier in the year, before my bigger dedication to diversity), but once I publish all of them, I want my blog to be filled with reviews and discussions about diverse books.

4. I will promote and celebrate more #ownvoices books.

I want to help my readers find books that they can relate to – books that they can make emotional connections with and books that validate their experience. #Ownvoices books are so special and so important, and I want these books to be read, heard, and talked about.

5. I will make diversity more accessible on my blog. 

I’ve added a new link to my navigation, Diversity 🌈. The purpose of that page is to make all things that celebrate diversity on my blog accessible and easy to find for all visitors. Therein, you’ll find book recommendations, links to features and discussions that highlight diversity, and other bloggers that commit to reading diversely.

divider

To make #5, make diversity more accessible on my blog, I asked the good folk of Twitter to help me out with some diverse book recommendation posts and the response was amazing. Thank you to everyone who sent me links! All of my recommendations are now found in the Diversity page.

If you would like your blog post featured on my page, I’d be more than happy to add your link to the page. Just reply in the below with your links, and if all is well, I’ll add them to the page!

However, I do have some requirements:

  • It must be a blog post that has all the recommendations in one blog post.
  • I won’t be linking weekly features or reviews of diverse books, though tags/awards/lists (with 5+ recommendations) are okay.

divider

I want to be a better book blogger and I want to do better at promoting diverse books. I took a brief hiatus following November 9th, but now I’m back. December will be an exciting month for my blog – or at least, I want it to be! – and I have big plans for 2017. Until next time, friends, take care and have a wonderful day. 💛

34 thoughts on “My Promise as a Diverse Book Blogger

  1. As a reader who loves your reviews, and needs more diverse books in their life: thank you. This sounds really sappy, but: reading this post filled me with warmth, and I can’t wait to find more diverse books through you. Way to be awesome. =D

    • Hey Liam!

      Oh thank you so much! :3 I’m not a perfect book blogger and I can definitely read more diverse books, so let’s read more diverse books together! 😊 Buuuuut, I shall do my absolute best to help you find more diverse reads!

      Thanks for your support, Liam! It is muchly appreciated!

  2. Oh my lord.

    You don’t even know how sluggish I felt waking up to those election results. It was mostly a day of walking around in a daze of “is this real life?” on repeat.

    The past aside, the sentiments in this post are nothing short of wonderful, CW. You continually are a pillar of light with your discussions et al., and I’m happy to see where you go with this and the book titles you end up featuring.

    Keep being awesome.

    • I hear yah, Joey. I felt so much diassociation that day, and it was unsettling. A part of me still rejects the idea that the election was a reality – I just can’t accept it?!

      Thank you so much Joey, for the kind, kind words and for your support. 😊 I shall do my best to read more diverse books and continue screaming about them from the mountain. Thank you!

  3. This is beautiful CW! I think the election has made us all go into reflection. I love your reading corner! I made a reading resources page when I first set up the blog to put interesting links in but I’ve neglected it lately – so I think updating it into a similar reading corner would be lovely too.

    • Thank you so much, Glaiza!

      OOOH goodness, thank you so much for telling me about your reading resource page! I shall go and add your link on my page. You’re one of my diversity role models, so you DEFINITELY belong there. 💕

      • No worries CW! No way, I love how you diversify, share and discuss work. I still needed to fix it up but I happily added a rainbow after seeing yours <3 Will link bank!

  4. This is such a wonderful post, CW. I’m not a diverse book blogger, but I definitely plan on practicing all these things too. One of my main reading goals for next year is to seriously diversify my reading. The post you created is wonderful and I’m definitely bookmarking it. Thanks so much for including my post!

    • Thank you so much, Lauren!
      That’s totally okay! I don’t read as diversely as I would like, but I’m going to change that, and I’m glad we can practice these things together. 😊 That’s one of my goals too – all the best to us both! Though, I have a feeling that the more diverse we read, the more incredible things we’ll find.

  5. I’m so glad to hear you’re doing this, and you are definitely an important voice in the community, right from the start. I’m going to check out your post and all of your recommendations, a few are already on my TBR I think, but I am eager to diversify my reading and find out new amazing authors :)

    • Thank you so much, Marie. ❤ That means so much to me that you think so. I’ll continue doing my best and do my part to read diversely and help people find the diverse reads they’re looking for and need!
      Ahhhh yes, I’m so excited for you! Since reading more diversely, I feel like my world has opened up to more possibilities, ideas, and stories! All the best with your diverse reading. ❤

  6. This is incredible, and seeing blogs/voices like this is so encouraging (despite, as you said, the difficult times). Thank you CW!

  7. What a lovely post, CW, and thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with the rest of the community! You’re one of the bloggers I really, really look up to thanks to your very thought-provoking, kind discussions and tbh I think you’re already very successful at making your blog a safe space for everyone who visits. Talking to you has always made me feel listened, and I’m sure everyone else feels the same way. You’re very, very (VERY) good at that.

    That being said, I can’t wait to see what other amazing things you’ll get up to! Keep being awesome. 💕

    • Ahh, thank you so much Reg! ❤
      Oh gosh, that means the world to me – thank you, and I’m so glad that I can, at least, convey that I care about everyone who visits!
      I look up to you too, as a blogger, so I hope that we can continue supporting each other in our endeavours!

  8. I really love this post. I would like to think that I already read somewhat diversely, but I am making a bigger effort in 2017 to read outside the mainstream, and I definitely plan on exploring more #ownvoices books next year.

    • Hi Alisia!

      Thank you so much. ❤ I think that’s incredible, and that’s what I’m going to aim for too. And I’ve found that reading diverse books are just far more exciting and engaging than a book with rehashed characters and storylines.

      Yes, go you! I’m going to read more #ownvoices too. ❤ Good luck!

    • Thank you for your support, Jeann! I’m truly honoured that you think so, and I’ll do my best to keep it up!

      And I cannot agree more. We need these books more than ever!

      I’ve linked your lovely post in my Diversity page! ❤

  9. Pingback: November Recap: Foreword of the new chapter in my life, Pokemon, and celebrating diversity | Read, Think, Ponder

  10. “I’ve added a new link to my navigation, Diversity . The purpose of that page is to make all things that celebrate diversity on my blog accessible and easy to find for all visitors. Therein, you’ll find book recommendations, links to features and discussions that highlight diversity, and other bloggers that commit to reading diversely.”

    LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! Can’t wait to see what you have in store for us in 2017!

  11. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: 11/28 – 12/4/16 | Cover2CoverMom

    • Hi Naz! Thank you so much — and actually, thank YOU for doing what you do. If it wasn’t for your post about Latinx Heritage Month, I wouldn’t have read Labyrinth Lost which has kindled my love for #ownvoices books. So, thank you Naz. ❤

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

