Diversity Spotlight Thursday #1

diversity-spotlight

Hi friends! I’m so excited to be (finally!) participating in this amazing weekly blog meme created and hosted by Aimal at Bookshelves and Paperbacks! For more information about the meme, please read the announcement post here!

One of my goals now and, well, forever after, is to read books with a variety of perspectives, especially ones different from my own. I won’t be participating in this weekly, but will aim to participate once every two weeks. So, every two weeks I will be sharing with you:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

Let’s get started! ❤

divider

A Book I Have Read

For Today I am a Boy by Kim Fu

“Finding one’s place in the world can be hard, but sometimes even more elusive still is finding where you fit in your family.

Peter Huang and his sisters—elegant Adele, shrewd Helen, and Bonnie the bon vivant—grow up in a house of many secrets, then escape the confines of small-town Ontario and spread from Montreal to California to Berlin. Peter’s own journey is obstructed by playground bullies, masochistic lovers, Christian ex-gays, and the ever-present shadow of his Chinese father.

At birth, Peter had been given the Chinese name juan chaun, powerful king. The exalted only son in the middle of three daughters, Peter was the one who would finally embody his immigrant father’s ideal of power and masculinity. But Peter has different dreams: he is certain he is a girl.”

divider2

I know what you’re thinking – CW! Shut up about this book! You talk about it ALL THE TIME.

To which I’d say, NEVERRRRRR.

In all seriousness, this book is so special. For Today I am a Boy is about a Chinese trans woman and it explores her experiences (both heartaching and the small victories), her dynamic and very different sisters, and growing up in a traditional Chinese household. It is heartbreaking, raw, and beautiful in its own way. I recommend this book to the moon and back. 

Add this book on Goodreads | Read my review

divider

A Book On My TBR

The Summer of Chasing Mermaids Sarah Ockler

“The youngest of six talented sisters, Elyse d’Abreau was destined for stardom—until a boating accident took everything from her. Now, the most beautiful singer in Tobago can’t sing. She can’t even speak.

Seeking quiet solitude, Elyse accepts a friend’s invitation to Atargatis Cove. Named for the mythical first mermaid, the Oregon seaside town is everything Elyse’s home in the Caribbean isn’t: An ocean too cold for swimming, parties too tame for singing, and people too polite to pry—except for one.

Christian Kane is a notorious playboy—insolent, arrogant, and completely charming. He’s also the only person in Atargatis Cove who doesn’t treat Elyse like a glass statue. He challenges her to express herself, and he admires the way she treats his younger brother Sebastian, who believes Elyse is the legendary mermaid come to life.

When Christian needs a first mate for the Cove’s high-stakes Pirate Regatta, Elyse reluctantly stows her fear of the sea and climbs aboard. The ocean isn’t the only thing making waves, though—swept up in Christian’s seductive tide and entranced by the Cove’s charms, Elyse begins to wonder if a life of solitude isn’t what she needs. But changing course again means facing her past. It means finding her inner voice. And scariest of all, it means opening her heart to a boy who’s best known for breaking them . . .”

divider2

Awhile ago, I asked the people at Twitter whether they knew any books that had an interracial relationship. I was told that The Summer of Chasing Mermaids has an interracial relationship, and after reading the synopsis, I really, really want to read this book! I’ve heard so many good things – that it portrays the main character’s heritage in a wonderful and appreciative way, and that the romance is stunning. (Also, that cover.)

Give me more interracial romances! This book is definitely at the top of my to-be-read pile!

Add this book on Goodreads

divider

A Book That Hasn’t Released Yet

History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

“OCD-afflicted Griffin has just lost his first love, Theo, in a drowning accident. In an attempt to hold onto every piece of the past, he forges a friendship with Theo’s last boyfriend, Jackson. When Jackson begins to exhibit signs of guilt, Griffin suspects he’s hiding something, and will stop at nothing to get to the truth about Theo’s death. But as the grieving pair grows closer, readers will question Griffin’s own version of the truth both in terms of what he’s willing to hide and what true love means.”

divider2

After reading More Happy Than Not – which I loved – I would happily read anything by Adam Silvera.

History is All You Left Me feels like it’ll have the same poignant and bittersweet tone as More Happy Than Not, but it also reminded me of Stephanie Kuehn’s books. I love how Silvera explores grief – in a sensitive, honest, and almost healing way, so I cannot wait for this book. It releases on the 17th of January 2017!

Add this book on Goodreads

divider

And that concludes today’s Diversity Spotlight Thursday! I will be posting my next spotlight on the 17th of November!

  • Do any of these books intrigue you? (Are you going to read For Today I am a Boy? BECAUSE YOU MUST.)
  • Have you read any of the books here? What did you think?
45 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #1

  1. This is such a great idea & will definitely check out other people’s posts too. I really want to read The Summer of Chasing Mermaids after reading friend’s recommendations and some of her thoughts on diversity.

    • Yay Glaiza! You should definitely participate – I think of you as the Queen of Diverse SFF so your contributions and recommendations would be so valuable!

      I want to read it too! I feel like a bunch of people want to read it – maybe we should all do a buddy read or something!

    • YAY LAUREN!

      I loved For Today I Am a Boy, and I hope you enjoy it if you read it!! ❤
      Oh gosh girl, More Happy Than Not was one of my fave books of last year! I really loved it. The themes of the book are explored sensitively and with nuance – it’s just such a well-written book. :D

  2. I’m so glad you’re participating in this now! I’m sure you’re gonna have awesome books to share! I’ve heard great things about The Summer of Chasing Mermaids but I’m still not convinced. I might see how you feel about it 😊

  3. I’ve finally read For Today I Am A Boy! The storytelling style didn’t jive perfectly with me, but I really enjoyed the themes and how realistic/authentic the representation feels. Also SUPER KEEN on reaching The Summer of Chasing Mermaids eventually – that book has been on my “maybe-read” list for aaaages and I keep forgetting about it. I should probably make that a priority soon.🙈

  4. YAY CW, THANKS FOR PARTICIPATING! :D Every time you talk about For Today I Am a Boy, I bump it up on my TBR, haha. It sounds incredible- especially because I haven’t read nearly as many books about trans characters as I’d like. I’ve heard really great things about the Summer of Chasing Mermaids too!

    • Aimal! ❤

      It’s my pleasure!! I’ve been wanting to for the LONGEST time and I’m happy I finally got to it.
      It is a lovely book. It’s been awhile since I’ve read and a part of me wonders if I’ve built it up in my head??? But I can assure you it’s amazing. ❤

  5. Pingback: Diversity Spotlight Thursday: #12 – Bookshelves & Paperbacks

  6. MMM YES!! Thank you for brining this diversity spotlight to my attention, i shall now scourage among them all and build a glorious TBR!!
    A Chinese trans lady?? Heck yes!! An interracial couple??? HECK YES!! Adam Silvera?? YES EVERYONE SAYS HE IS THE GOD I MUST READ HIS GODLY BOOKS.
    I’m looking desperately forward for When Dimple Met Rishi!! It’s this Indian Rom Com sort of book from what i’ve heard, aka exactly what i would wish for if i ever rubbed a lamp (teehee i’m still reading the forbidden wish if you couldn’t tell 😉)

    • Hi Becca!

      Hehe, you’re welcome! I hope you can participate too – I’d love to see your recommendations and what’s on your radar. ❤
      I’ve only read More Happy Than Not, but it is AMAZING. You must read it! It’s very sad, but a very honest and genuine sad, you know?

      I’m looking forward to When Dimple Met Rishi too! I was going to share that in next week’s spotlight! ^_^

      How is The Forbidden Wish going? ❤

  7. I made myself a must-read-as-soon-as-possible-for-my-own-good reading list and For Today I Am A Boy is at the top. I can’t wait to talk to you about it! Also, I’m so excited for History Is All You Left Me! I wish it was out already so I could have read another Adam Silvera book straight after More Happy Than Not. I’m really not sure what I expect from it, since his debut is so unique and with such a clear vision. Exciting stuff though!

  8. Ahh this is great list! How can I never even heard of FOR TODAY I’M A BOY? It sounds amazing! I have THE SUMMER OF CHASING MERMAIDS and HISTORY IS ALL YOU LEFT ME on my tbr too! <3

  9. Your cover of For Today I Am A Boy is much better than the American one I have!
    I hope to read the book sometime in 2017. Thanks for the recommendations.

    Ah, I didn’t realize how soon History Is All You Left Me will be releasing. 2 months is nothing! I am so ready for this book. I too will read anything Adam Silvera writes. :)

    • AH it is! I bought it recently and it’s beautiful. ;_; It’s sitting on my desk as opposed to my shelf because I just love looking at it.
      OH OH let me know when you start reading it! Maybe I’ll read it too – it’s a book I want to read again and experience again. ❤

  10. Pingback: #DiversityThursday: Cold Magic, Portable Curiosities & Bad Boy – Paper Wanderer

  11. Pingback: November Recap: Foreword of the new chapter in my life, Pokemon, and celebrating diversity | Read, Think, Ponder

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

