To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

toalltheboys

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

I adored this book. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before is sweet, fluffy, and just downright cute.

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before is not a plot-driven novel, nor does it have a ‘point’. On the contrary, this book is a slice of the humble and peaceful life of Lara Jean, and the hilarious shambles that follow after her secret love letters are sent to the boys she loved. Yes, it may sound silly – I mean, it’s hardly apocalyptic if your crushes receive love letters that you secretly wrote to them – but it flipped her usual, quiet life upside down and I adored it.

A highlight in To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before was the prominent theme of sisterhood and family. I loved, loved, loved Lara Jean’s relationships with her sisters and how they were portrayed; fights followed by swift forgiveness, times when they annoyed the daylights out of each other, the silent gestures of affection, the almost reverent respect for one another, and that, no matter what happens, sisters are forever. It reminded me of my relationship with my little sister; she and I are extremely close and we have our own made-up language with each other that no one else could understand. The Song sisters and their dad – MR. COVEY! – were the most gorgeous family ever with their own fair share of quirks, warmth, and, at times, heartache. Can we talk about how Mr. Covey cooks Korean food for his daughters so they can stay connected to their cultural roots? Isn’t he just the most amazing fictional dad ever?

All of the characters in To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before were lovable and endearing – especially Lara Jean. I liked that Lara Jean’s voice was young. I like teenagers who are wise beyond their years and speak with maturity, but I also appreciate the teenagers who don’t. More so, I related to her; when I was sixteen, I acted, thought and spoke like her. So, in that sense, this story is for people like me, and I think that’s the point. Nonetheless, Lara Jean was sweet, does what she thinks is best, and was undeniable flawed. Lara Jean made some choices that made no sense – but isn’t that part of being young? Getting swept away by things you had only heard of and never expecting it to happen to you? The unorthodox relationship she shared with Peter was delightful, and the banter and friendship warmed my heart. I’m not a big shipper, but Han successfully coaxed me into shipping.

That’s when I see him. Peter Kavinsky, walking down the hallway. Like magic. Beautiful, dark-haired Peter. He deserves background music, he looks so good.

This book reminded me of what it was like being a young, stupid, naive teenager. Usually when I say this, I refer to those confusing, hormonal times of insecurity and fractured identities, but with regards to To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, this book made me remember the joys of youth and innocence, and the confusing but wonderful things called crushes. (Note: I had many, and like Lara Jean pre-book events, I never told them how I felt.) In other words, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before made me remember the good, innocent things – and I liked that a lot. Being sixteen is weird and awkward, but it can also be a time of discovery, mistakes, new happiness, and love. 

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before will make you smile and laugh, give you warm fuzzies, and put you in a sunny, good mood. (Not to mention, this book made me feel so young again.) Rich with the joys and sweetnesses of life, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before will win your heart and fill you with optimism and the sunshine of life – as it did mine.

Rating: 4/5

Book Information
Book Name: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before
Book Series: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before #1
Author: Jenny Han
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Format: Audiobook

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before in:
Goodreads | Book Depository | FoylesMy review on Goodreads


Ever since reading Simon Vs.I’ve developed a healthy appetite for sweet, cute books. I thought To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before was a great fluffy novel.

  • Do you like reading fluffy romances? Which are some of your favourites? (Any recommendations?)
  • Have you read To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before? What did you think?
18 thoughts on “To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

  1. I wasn’t a huge fan of Peter Kavinsky, but I loved this To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before nonetheless! 💕 I remember smiling and laughing to myself as I read it. I wish there were more fluffy (and diverse) romances out there– I’m sometimes in the mood for them, but can’t find any 😭

    • Oooh!! Do you like the other boy – John Ambrose Mclaren? (lmao, his name is so dorky and it feels wrong if I just call him JOHN.)
      Right? It’s just so sweet. :’) I wish that too. I really enjoyed the little bits about Lara Jean’s Korean heritage – that to me was a very very nice way of integrating culture without it overshadowing the plot?
      *sigh* I’ll be here, waiting, for more fluffy romances with Asian leads. :’)

  2. I’m so, so happy you loved this book so much. I agree that it’s not really a plot-driven book, but it’s such a pleasure to read it all, to discover the wonderful relationship Lara Jean shares with her sister and her family. Her voice is so, so teenage-like, she’s being naive at times, confused and just, well, a real teenager, and it feels good to have a voice reminding us of how we were like when we were young. Fantastic review, as always! :)

    • Ahh, agreed with everything that you said! I’m so glad I enjoyed it too, and I can’t wait until the third book! :’)
      I agree with you about the voice thing. It made me a little sad that people thought she sounded too young, but, Lara Jean is young! And it’s not a bad thing for her to sound so.

      Thank you Marie, as always! <3

  3. I have never read this book, but your review made me want to add it to my list. It sounds so cute! I like the idea of a teenage who actually sounds like a teenager, and that family has a part to play. Family tends to be forgotten!

    • Hi Donna! To be honest, I was a little sceptical when I first read it, but it’s GOOD. It’s very light-hearted, very fluffy, and very very sweet.
      I agree! Family is so important to me, so it was great to see a character who felt the same sort of connection and closeness with her family.
      I hope you enjoy it if you read it! <3

  4. Great review, CW! And AMAZING graphic – I know I say this practically every time I read one of your reviews, but I’m always in awe by how great they look, so I couldn’t help myself.

    I agree with pretty much everything you said. Some books don’t need to offer a lot more than a slice-of-life, feel-good sense, and this book does so in spades, I think. Lara Jean definitely sounded 16, and the sisterly bond that she has with her sisters is so heart-warming. I have a brother myself but I grew up alongside a female cousin that’s practically my sister, and the whole own language thing is so true. :P

    • Aw, thanks Reg! I hope you know that I appreciate it every single time you say it – so thank you so much!! ^_^

      Yes, absolutely! I think I enjoyed this book because I generally like slice-of-life things (especially slice of life anime). And yeah, she does! She sounded a lot like me when I was 16, and I really liked that and I could really relate to her.
      Hehehe, yes! It’s so special – and kinda weird? The language between my sis and I has evolved over the years. It’s kinda cute but kinda weird. I love it though. c:

  5. I loved reading TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE! Have you you read PS I STILL LOVE YOU yet? It takes place right where the first one ends, so it felt like reading one long book when I read them back-to-back. Great review! I agree that I loved the aspects with her sisters and dad. I have never wanted sisters before (as I have a younger brother), but I definitely wanted one after reading this book! haha :)

    -Jordan @ The Heart of a Book Blogger

    • I have read PS I Still Love you! I actually found myself liking it better than the first one.
      Hehe, thanks! I have a little sister and this book made me appreciate her so much. I kinda want her to read it… but she’s a person who doesn’t read for fun. *sigh*

  6. Frankly speaking I have always been very reluctant to read this book because I tend to avoid fluff until I am under so much stress that I need something light. Think I’ll save this book for a day like that. I do like the fact that it focuses on family–Idk about you but I think that’s very rare in YA. It’s strange how parents and siblings in YA are often in the dark when it comes to knowing what their kids are doing. I am glad this book avoids that stereotype.

  7. Fluffy romances are the best! Sometimes you just need something to brighten your mood, and they do a fantastic job at that. I am so glad you enjoyed this one and I can’t wait to see what you think of the sequel if you end up reading it. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! <3

  8. Wonderful review, CW! I’m really glad you enjoyed it and thats so cool that Mr. Covey cooks Korean meals so that his daughters stays close to their roots! Sounds like a really adorable and lighthearted book. I like that Lara actually talks and behaves like a teenager. I agree with you that so many MCs in YA talk like a mature adult! I read a negative review of this book (it was by Emily May) who said that Lara was too immature and that sort of steered me away from the book, but that’s the anatomy of a teenager. Love your illustration for your review, its beautiful as always! ;)

    • Hi Thuong! Right? I just LOVED Mr. Covey – he’s probably my favourite character!
      YES, and I found Lara Jean’s ‘young’ voice very refreshing. I’ve read Emily May’s review and see her point, but eh, I really like it. I think you should give it a go, it’s super fluffy and feel-good!

      Aw, thank you so much! :D I appreciate it. <3

  9. Although there were a few things that niggled at me like Lara Jean’s insecurity and going for her sister’s boyfriend, I loved the sisterly relationship and how she’s from a korean family as well. It definitely does put a smile on your face!

  10. Pingback: September Recap: Lessons from my work life & celebrating the book community | Read, Think, Ponder

  11. Pingback: Book Recs: Fantastic Female Friendships | Read, Think, Ponder

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

