Book Recs: Let’s Go on an Adventure?

Hello all! How are you today? I hope you’re all doing wonderfully!

Today’s post will be my last book recs post during my vacation hiatus. (And I’ve quite enjoyed doing these; I think I’ll do some more in the future!) The theme for this post will be adventures. I really wanted to do something on food or traveling, but it seems I haven’t read many books where food was a central theme! So adventures it is!

I think it’s healthy to go outside your comfort zone every once and a while, and seize opportunities to learn and grow. Personally, I’m usually a shy person who loves being comfortable, but every now and then, an adventure can be thrilling and exciting! After all, you don’t know what you don’t know!

I love adventure books, though between you and I, I struggled to find some recommendations! So if you know a book that has a wonderful adventure, please share in the comments below!


a1

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adam  – To explain succinctly how much I loved this book: I promptly purchased this book only after reading a few chapters. Hitchhiker’s is a hilarious book that made me laugh and laugh with it’s deadpan, witty humour. It also features a crazy adventure that is full of weird, hilarious coincidences and misfortune. An absolute must-read for sci-fi lovers out there! (Goodreads)

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley – If you’ve read my review, all of you know how much I adored Magonia. Extremely unique and imaginative, this book is an incredible adventure and has a wonderful way of filling you with wonder and a deep appreciation for the beauty of life. Magonia is an adventure with a huge and bold heart. (Goodreads, my review)

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab – How could I write a list and not include this wonderful gem of a book? Four Londons, an angsty magician/dimension traveller, a cross-dressing thief, and all complicated with dark and dangerous magic- ADSOM is guaranteed to be a fantastic and colourful journey. Need I say more? (Goodreads, my review)

a2

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien (Goodreads) and The Lord of the Rings series by J.R.R. Tolkien  (Goodreads) – How can I not mention The Hobbit and LOTR? Both are wonderful, exciting adventures and represent that bravery and goodness can change the world and can come from the smallest of people. And as a fan of both movie trilogies (and as a proud New Zealander) if you have no patience for the book, at least watch the movies – they’re incredible.

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness – A little different to your typical adventure, but The Knife of Never Letting Go is an incredible story that tells of an emotional adventure of discovery, growth, and seeing the world in a new light. (Goodreads, my review)

a3

The Martian by Andy Weir – Mark Watney’s scientific ramblings may have been tedious, but his survival and adventure across Mars was definitely unforgettable. There’s no denying that this book is quite unlike any survival story you’ve read, so for those who still have this on your TBR, give this heart-stopping and incredible book a go! (Goodreads, my review)

Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer – People may have their own opinions about Christopher McCandless and his unfortunate death in the Alaskan wild, but there was something remarkable and poignant about his endeavour. Into The Wild is a non-fiction analysis of McCandless’s last adventure, and unexpectedly underpins the value of human life and connection. (Goodreads, my review)

Gambit by C. Denault – All of you probably know how much I love Gambit. Though it may be a dystopian romance, it is also a whirlwind adventure seen through the eyes of Willow, the book’s lively and stubborn protagonist. As Willow ventures into a new world for the first time, Gambit promises a thrilling, vicarious adventure. (Goodreads, my review)


Phew, after recommending all of these adventure books, I’m thinking I should start reading more adventure books.

So friends, what are some of your favourite books that are about an amazing adventure? Or, have you been on an adventure recently?

I’d love to hear about it! Let me know in the comments below.

I’ll be back from hiatus by the end of next week, so see you all then! Happy reading everyone!

5 thoughts on “Book Recs: Let’s Go on an Adventure?

  1. Ohh yes, I’m really loving when books are taking me on an adventure, and on your list, ADSOM definitely took me someplace different, I loved it so, so much :) I really have to read TKONLG soon :) I hope you’re enjoying your holidays! :D

  2. The Hitchhiker’s Guide has been on my TBR for AGES – I so need to start it soon!
    And ahhhhhhh The Martian yess – the sciency things were a bit tedious – but ahh it was just so inspiring, and so human and I really enjoyed reading it :D

  3. I have had my eyes on ADSOM for the longest time! It’s just that our local bookstores seem to not have it in stock, and I don’t want to wait too long for international shipping, but I’m planning on pre-ordering it from one of our local stores. Wish me luck on getting it! And lovely post, CW! :D

  4. You are always guaranteed an epic adventure when reading J.R.R. Tolkien. The Hobbit is a childhood classic. Of course ADSOM is equally as compelling and I loved that journey between all London’s and getting to experience the different environment and culture in each London. I’ve been told that I need to read Patrick Ness’ Chaos Walking trilogy so I’ll see if I can get my hands on a set. :D

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

