Book Recs: Home (and Family) is Where The Heart Is

Hello friends! I hope you’re all doing well, and I hope that you’re reading some fantastic books!

As per my hiatus post, I have prepared some posts that relate to my holiday. As the title suggests, this post’s theme is family, as I will be visiting family I haven’t seen in 6 years! More so, family is something that is really important to me.

Recommending books about family is a great opportunity to celebrate books that tackle family relationships because I don’t think there are enough books that explore family. Granted, most protagonists do have parents and they are present, to a degree, but I think how the relationships with your family change as you enter your teens and then into adulthood need more representation!

But without further a do, today I’d like to share some books where family and familial relationships were portrayed.


fam01

CHARACTERS AND FAMILIES OF MULTIPLE GENERATIONS

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslie Walton – Ava Lavender was probably one of my favourite books of 2015, and is indeed very strange but very beautiful. With magical realism that is beautifully written and incredibly evocative, Ava Lavender is a beautiful generational tale that explores generational sorrows that haunt Ava’s family, and their passionate but terrible loves and fates. (Goodreads, my review)

The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan – If there was a story that changed my life, it would be this one. Though I prefer the movie over the book, The Joy Luck Club consists of a series of short stories that explore the complex relationships between Asian mothers and daughters, the power of maternal love, and the daughters’ journeys of discovering who they are. (Goodreads)

fam02

CHARACTERS THAT WERE CLOSE TO THEIR FAMILIES

To All The Boys I Loved Before by Jenny Han – Something I loved about this book was its emphasis on family and sisterly-love! Lara Jean is close to her two sisters, Kitty and Margot – and also accommodated to the needs and traditions of her family after Margot leaves for college. Though the book isn’t quite about family, To All The Boys I Loved Before features an adorable story and is faultlessly lighthearted and sweet. (Goodreads)

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray – This book had everything – dimensional travel, adventure, romance, fate, war, transcendence – as well as a protagonist who was close to her family and loved them immensely. In fact, her whole journey is spurred by the love she has for her family (and partly because of revenge as well…), and shows that some of the people that we love are constants in our life, no matter the dimension. (Goodreads, my review)

If I Stay by Gayle Foreman – One of my favourite parts of the book was how Mia was so close to her family, and how her deep relationships with her family played a part in the narrative. Though the book may be a saccharine and cliched, If I Stay was nonetheless evocative and moving, as it shows and examines what we live for and why. (Goodreads, my review)

fam03

‘FRIENDS ARE THE FAMILY WE CHOOSE OURSELVES’

Saga series by Brian K. Vaughan – Saga is more than just a visual feast for the eyes; it’s a graphic novel series that features narratives of war, strange creatures and beings, all kinds of twisted love, and also familyhood. It explores what it means to be a parent (and grandparent) in a time of war and strife, as well as developing unexpectedly close bonds with strangers who you can eventually call your family. (Goodreads, my review)

Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson – When Lee escapes for California in the time of the Gold Rush-era in America, her long journey is riddled with obstacles and danger. Thankfully, she finds company in a band of unlikely travelers, who eventually become her family. Walk on Earth a Stranger is a wonderful, compelling tale that’s historical fiction with a slightly magical twist. (Goodreads)

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – Need I say more? Neglected and unwelcome in his aunt and uncle’s home, Harry finds more than just danger, magic, and fantastical things at Hogwarts – he also finds friends and those he can call his family. (Goodreads)


I love books that include themes of family, and I can’t wait to read more books that feature family relationships and dynamics!

What are some of your favourite books that explore family? (I heard that Second Chance Summer is a good one!) Do you think there’s any that I missed? Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for stopping by, and have a wonderful day everyone!

4 thoughts on “Book Recs: Home (and Family) is Where The Heart Is

  1. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender has been sitting on my book shelf for so long now. I will hopefully pick it up sometime this year but I have to be in the right mood for magical realism. I love books that focus on familial relationships as well. I’d say I’ll Give you the Sun is a great book that explores the family dynamic and the focus on the twins’ relationship is just beautifully written.

  2. I love how close-knitted the Song family is! Lara is definitely lucky to have a family like them. And of course, the relationship between Mia and her family is heartbreaking, especially since the thing that happened to them *sobs* HP is more like friendship I guess, but it does have strong family elements, which is the weasleys and (admit it) the malfoys. No matter how twisted the Malfoys is, we can agree that Draco, Lucius and Narcissa is a very close family! Great list!

  3. Ava Lavender is such a beautiful book! Part of me wants to read it again, but honestly it ripped me to shreds! The family is just so sad. I loved the writing of them though, and the sense that even events that happened even a couple generations previously can continue to affect the present.

    I really liked the elements of family in Saint Anything, Sarah Dessen’s last book. It contrasted a family that are very typically ‘together’ (but troubled), compared to one that has completely fractured. It’s Sarah Dessen. It’s always going to be awesome.

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

