Siblinghood of the World Bloggers Award!

siblinghood

Hello everyone! I am slowly powering my way through all my tags (thank you again to everyone who tagged me)! I’m unfortunately the worst when it comes to these – even though I really enjoy writing them.

I was nominated for the Siblinghood of the World Bloggers Award! What an absolute pleasure and honour. I’d like to give my heartfelt thanks to¬†Zoe at adailylifeblog,¬†Alyssa from From Beyond Infinity, and Jesse at Books at Dawn for nominating me for this award!¬†All of three of them have splendid blogs and have kind and beautiful souls. Be sure to check out their blogs!

So, without further ado, here is the Siblinghood of the World Bloggers Award!


Rules:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link to their blog in your post.
  2. Answer the questions that the blogger who nominated you has provided.
  3. Nominate ten other bloggers (or up to 10).
  4. Create ten questions for your nominees and notify them of their nominations.

Zoe’s questions:

1. What do you enjoy most about reading?

I love almost everything about reading, but I think my favourite thing about reading is how black and white words on a paper can construct¬†colourful, infinite worlds in our imagination. Reading is a form of escapism, but sometimes I also think¬†it’s a form of transcendence. It’s those moments when we’re so absorbed in wonderful¬†books, we aren’t really in our bodies – we’re in another¬†reality. What I enjoy most about reading would be how it takes us away to another place, and I think that’s such a small but beautiful thing.

2. What is your dream job?

My dream job would be doing something for¬†youth, possibly mental health-related. Whether it be advocacy, research, or out there on the field actually working, I don’t have any definitive idea. For me, it is the goals and the outcomes that matter a bit more than the logistics.

3. If you could be friends with any fictional character who would it be?

This is a good and difficult question! After ten minutes or so of thinking, I think I would choose Nehemia from the Throne of Glass¬†series. I’m certain that Nehemia is an INFJ (like me!), and she has this wisdom and bravery that is so rare. A¬†character has never resonated with me so much before.¬†If Nehemia and I were friends, I would learn so much from her bravery and virtue.

4. What do you enjoy the most about blogging?

I enjoy putting my thoughts out there, and I love that blogging makes this possible. By extension I love reading other people’s thoughts on books too, or even when they share their lives. It’s incredible to think that without blogging, our voices may not ever be heard or our lives would never intersect. I also enjoy meeting new bloggers, and reading some really fantastic reviews that inspire me to better my writing.

5. Top three favourite books?

Oooooh this is so hard.

After some thinking, it would be (in no particular order) Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami, Nineteen Eighty Four by George Orwell, and Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. There are, however, many close favourites.

6. Favourite place to read?

Hmmm, I have two favourite places.

If it’s for a physical book, I love reading outside on a sunny day. Slap some sunscreen on with a wide-brim hat, I get to read and enjoy¬†nature’s sounds. If it’s for my phone, I like reading in my bed – it’s comfortable and I can snuggle up with my blankets and pillows!

7. If you could live in any book world, where would it be?

Oh jeez, this is hard. I’m going to have to go with Middle-Earth from¬†Lord of the Rings. I’d be an elf and I’d live in Rivendell! Or maybe in the Harry Potter universe… that’d be wicked awesome.

8. The villain that you hate to love?

For me, it’s V for¬†V for Vendetta. V is all at once a revolutionary, intelligent, cruel, flawed, and a symbol of idealism in a fascist alternate reality. Is V a hero or villain? One of my favourite quotes from¬†V for Vendetta:

‚ÄúArtists use lies to tell the truth. Yes, I created a lie. But because you believed it, you found something true about yourself.‚ÄĚ

9. Hardback or paperback?

I often buy paperbacks and reserve hardbacks for those all-time favourites. I do like reading hardbacks though – I don’t feel as hesitant to take them out with me! But paperbacks are more affordable than hardbacks… aaaaaah. I’m going with hardbacks.

10. Favourite genre to read?

It depends on my mood! Sometimes I like fluffy romances, sometimes I like something thought-provoking, and sometimes I like trashy dystopians that I love to hate. But if I had to go with one genre… ¬†I’ll go with my guilty pleasures: a well-written fantasy/paranormal romance. Those are always good.


Alyssa’s questions for me (note, questions #4 and #8 have been omitted as the questions are very similar to two of Zoe’s questions!):

1. My most favourite person in the whole wide world is:

I’m going to make this a bit more interesting, and change the question a bit – my favourite person¬†that I don’t personally know¬†would probably be… gosh this is hard too. I love Constance Wu, Fan Bingbing,¬†Amandla Stenberg, Lupita Nyong’o, Ian McKellen, Laverne Cox, Rinko Kikuchi, Nobuo Uematsu… I could go on forever.

2. I read because…

I read to escape, to imagine new worlds and meet new characters, to share the joy of reading to others, and because I love reading! c:

3. Nighttime or daytime? Why?

Ooh gosh. I’m more of a night creature and am certainly more active at night, but I love¬†the day time. I can do more things during the day time, and I love the sun!

5. The worst protagonist ever is…

Limiting it to books of this year, probably Bianca from¬†The DUFF. I couldn’t stand her. She was petty, arrogant, obnoxious, and¬†not to mention a self-righteous faux feminist.

6. My favourite author(s) is/are…

Definitely Haruki Murakami, Stephanie Kuehn, Richelle Mead, Kazuo Ishiguro, and, more recently, Marie Rutkoski.

7. Reveal one of your secrets. (it can be anything)

Small secret that I don’t mind sharing:¬†I identify as demisexual (though I don’t see myself as asexual). I oftentimes feel¬†a little alienated with some aspects of youth culture – especially things like one-night stands, having multiple sex partners, having sex after one date, etc.I’m not against those things in the slightest – so long as it is consensual and safe – I just cannot, mentally and physically – relate to those ideas and the acts themselves.

9. Side character/s that you want to have their own story:

I’m not a fan of spin-offs (with the exception of the¬†Bloodlines¬†series), but I would love to learn more about Nehemia from Throne of Glass. I’d love to see the world from her perspective. (I’ll get over Nehemia soon… just not today!)

10. Tell something about yourself.

I’m 153cm or 5 feet. So yeah, I’m tiny. (But I never have to duck for low branches, so it’s awesome.)


And finally, Jesse’s questions for me:

1. You’ve committed a crime and are going to jail for life. The judge allows you to bring three books with you and those are the only three books you’ll be reading for the rest of your life. Which three are they?

This is a cruel, cruel question. As a person who never re-reads books, this sounds like a death sentence. But okay, I think I would take¬†Norwegian Wood¬†by Haruki Murakami,¬†Unteachable¬†by Leah Raeder, and maybe¬†The Indigo Spell¬†by Richelle Mead. I love these books, but I also shudder to think I’d read those books for the rest of my life. Maybe instead of reading, I’ll just become one of those super swole¬†people.

2. Pick three characters from your favorite book and play the F*ck, Marry, Kill game.

I remember when my friends and I used to play this game whenever we were bored, even if it made me feel a little weird.

Using the Bloodlines¬†series by Richelle Mead, with¬†The Indigo Spell¬†in particular, I’d kill Sydney (I’m sorry Sydney!), fuck Marcus Finch (I suppose), and marry Adrian Ivashkov because he’s the #1 babe.

3. You’ve been granted a magical power from the Gods. Which power is it and why? 

Is it weird that I often ask myself this question? I think I’d want the power of healing, telepathy, or time manipulation. If I¬†had¬†to choose one… I’d go with¬†healing.

4. You’ve been in a relationship with your man/woman and things are getting serious, but out of the blue they ask you to choose them or your books. Which do you choose and why? 

I would probably choose him. (I have someone in mind.) Then we can make stories together.

5. You’re being held at gun point but the shooter says he will set you free if you burn three of your books. Which three would you choose? 

Haha! I love the context for these questions. As I unfortunately own a few books I don’t particularly enjoy, I’d burn¬†The Da Vinci Code¬†by Dan Brown (I can just get another copy in a book fair anyway since there seems to be an overabundance of them), and my two¬†Maximum Ride¬†books.

6. Hero, Assassin, or Prince/Princess? You can only pick one. Which do you choose to be in a story with you as the main character?

Definitely assassin. But an assassin who has values and a creed. That’d be awesome.

7. There is a new law coming into effect. It bans (insert genre here) genre from ever being read/written again. Which genre would you choose? 

Horror – only because I am apathetic to the genre, not that I truly believe it should be banned.

8. With wanting more diversity in books nowadays, what is one aspect you believe should be represented more and why?

I’d definitely love seeing more PoC/diaspora narratives. Bearing in mind that PoC is only an appropriate term in predominantly white, Western countries, I’d love to see more books that explore the psychological and interpersonal hurdles of growing up in a place where you are assumed to not belong. This was a particular struggle for me growing up, and something that is shared by many of my friends – and yet no one talks about it! Why? We need more books that talk about these things, especially since parents will have a very different lived experience and perspective from their children.

9. Your favorite author is going to call you for a once in a lifetime chance to talk. You can only ask them one question. Who is the author and what is the question? Why?

Oh jeez, remember The Fault in Our Stars? 

I know it’s ridiculous, but after that I am deeply scared that it’d happen to me! I’d be crushed! But, anyway. I would ask Kazuo Ishiguro where he draws his inspiration from. Why: his books are incredibly profound and subtle – the sort of book I’d aspire to write if I was a writer.

10. If your favorite ship doesn’t end up together by the end of the book, would you give it a low rating and why?

I’m not really a person who ships pairs. I don’t know; I just don’t feel the chemistry that people feel. I rarely ship, but it would depend. Sometimes I might have a favourite ship, but I can accept if they don’t end up together if there was a good reason for it. If it was for a cheap, bad reason, e.g. killing of one of them for the sake of shock-value and controversy, I’d probably be upset. Was the book as a whole good though? If my favourite ship sunk but the book was otherwise good, I’d still give it a good rating.

All in all, my ships carry very little weight when it comes to ratings.


Phew, and that’s me! This is probably my longest post to date, so thanks for reading if you did! Sorry I’m such a bore, but I hope you had fun anyway.

And now I nominate:

  1. Sumaya from Sue’s Reading Corner
  2. Glaiza from Paper Wanderer
  3. Tanaz from Bookish Freaks
  4. Wesaun from Oreos & Books
  5. Flo from Flowlessbooks
  6. Jenna from Reading with Jenna
  7. Aetheristrux from The Amazing Life of a Bookworm
  8. Alia from One Way or an Author
  9. Aentee from Read at Midnight
  10. Trisha Ann from The Bookgasm
  11. Charley from Books and Bakes

And here are my 10 questions:

  1. If your life was a book genre, what would it be, and why?
  2. What is a book you had such high hopes for but ultimately disappointed you?
  3. What magic/superpower would you want, and which universe would your power come from? (e.g. Earth-bending from Avatar the Last Airbender, magical ability from Harry Potter, etc.)
  4. To get the magical ability/superpower from Question 3, what would you give up in exchange? (It has to be something that you possess, and cannot be bought/sold.)
  5. What is an ending to a book that you hated? (Please tag your spoilers!)
  6. How would you write the ending from Question 5?
  7. What is the oldest book (by original publication) you possess and the newest? (Do they have any similarities?)
  8. Who would you cast as your favourite character?
  9. What is a theme/motif that you love reading about?
  10. (Last and easy question!) What is your favourite book-to-movie adaptation?
33 thoughts on “Siblinghood of the World Bloggers Award!

  1. Short people are cute people *high (short) five* I’m also just an inch or two over five feet!
    I get the feeling you love Japanese culture a lot, CW :) My favorite Murakami book is Kafka but I will try Norwegian Woods. You and Erika @ Bookventureland like it much. Did you see his answers on interviews about his personal life? He’s just the wittiest! Thanks for tagging me! :)

    • HAHA YES! Short people are the best! ;)

      Hmmmm, I wouldn’t say I love Japanese culture. I respect it! It just so happens most of the authors I adore are Japanese. ^_^

      I love Norwegian Wood! It’s definitely different to his surreal, philosophical works, but I just enjoyed his exploration of the mundane in it. I don’t know. It really struck my core! But PLEASE READ IT SO WE CAN CRY/DISCUSS IT. <3

      And I haven't read the interview, but will do now! Though I did see what he said about not winning the Nobel prize!

  2. CW, I loved reading your responses!!! And I have Norwegian Wood but for some reason I’ve never opened it. A guy from college gave it to me from one of our creative writing classes and then he wrote a disturbing short story about a pregnant woman (which I was pregnant at the time) and I think I was turned off from reading anything he had given me, lol. But your so awesome so of course I now am coming to the conclusion that it must be good. I think I’ll pick it up in the new year! ūüėĄ

    • Aw, glad you thought so Nicolette! c:

      Oh jeez! I don’t blame you for feeling turned off. D: But I can assure you that Norwegian Wood does not have any pregnant women or anything of the sort. I think it’ll be safe for you to read!

      YES PLEASE! <3 Norwegian Wood is beautiful in a very sad, tragic way. Typically I don't like such books but he does it in such a… wonderful and unique way.

      (YOU'RE WONDERFUL!! <3 <3)

  3. Hello my little friend :D I didn’t know demisexuality was a thing but I would be demisexual too, I guess. I’m excited to see Rinko Kikuchi on your list of favourite people. I loved her in Norwegian Wood (and I still have a deep dislike for the actress who played the other girl).

    Now tell me more about this someone you have in mind :D :D :D

    • I didn’t know either for a time, and then I found out and I was like, ‘this is soooo me!!’

      Haha I love her! I especially loved her in Pacific Rim. She was everything I wanted in a movie character tbh.

      (I’LL TWITTER DM YOU WHEN I GET HOME.)

  4. I love that you chose healing for your super power. I have had that discussion with my friends and I’ve never heard anyone choose that! I never even thought of it. I hope this doesn’t make me a terrible person. I usually say telepathy because I read Matilda too many times when I was kid.

    I really enjoyed this post. I like when we get to learn more about each other.

    • Thanks Lydia! I see healing to be a big burden – you’d probably feel obliged to heal anyone you can see, and probably at some cost to your body! – but I think it’d would fit with my personality. Telepathy was my other choice, esp following X-Men Days of Future Past!

      Thank you! I am glad. I enjoy learning more about each other too. :) It’s nice when we can talk about something other than books once in awhile!

  5. Amazing answers, and congrats on getting nominated! :D I’m so glad to find someone who was as bothered with Bianca from The DUFF, as I was. I just couldn’t stand her through the whole story, it was so annoying! And healing certainly would be an amazing superpower! I didn’t know you liked Kazuo Ishiguro. I only read Never Let Me Go, but I was blown away. Maybe I should check out other books by him :)

    • Thanks Marie! <3 <3
      RIGHT? I couldn't stand her either. She represents everything I dislike in a person.
      It would be! But probably very exhausting, emotionally and physically. What would your superpower be? :)

      I love Ishiguro! His books are fantastic. My favourite of his is The Remains of the Day. It is sooooo beautiful and poignant. And I liked Nocturnes as well, which is just 5 short stories! :D

  6. I hope you had fun answering my questions! I know some of them were hard to answer :P

    I feel like everyone I have asked also said they were ban Horror. I guess there are a lot of scared people out there HAHA

    • I loved your questions! They were so much fun and made me really think.

      LOL I don’t like Horror and YES I get super scared! I don’t know if I like the idea of subjecting myself to fear at night. I’m already bad enough with a sound mind. XD

  7. (I’m kind of sad I’m not part of your Siblinghood either! …But that’s okay, I already did this post!)

    But oh my gosh, your answers are perfect! I so agree with your answer to the first blogging question. I never really thought about it, but you’re right! All these voices… really would be unheard if not for our blogs. Even though us writing for our blogs is still us I think we’re a little different in the real world, if that makes sense. Actually a lot of my in real life friends don’t know that I have one, a blog that is. And most don’t even realize that I really enjoy reading as much as I do. :P And Lupita! I recently discovered her through this video. She seems like such lovely, down-to-earth lady! :)

    • I’M SORRY SUMMER :( Tbh I tagged without really thinking about siblings, I just wanted to give my new followers a time of the day. XD

      Hahah, thank you! ^_^ I think all of us are too. I think some of us may unconsciously put on personas, which is not a bad thing at all! Same with me – a lot of my friends know I read but not a blog. It’s always nice when I tell them and they’re very supportive of it. XD

      I adore her! I loved her skit in the Sesame Street with Elmo – definitely look that one up! :D

    • Hahaha right?! I remember finishing it for the first time and I just laid back in my chair wide-eyed and a bit disturbed! But such a good book – I recommend it to all my friends who want to get into dystopian/social issues. :)

  8. Pingback: TBR Book Tag | A Little Bookish, A Little Writerly

  9. Pingback: | BLOG AWARD | SIBLINGHOOD OF THE WORLD BLOGGERS AWARD | flowlessbooks

  10. Why I did not see this post before? CW your answers are so brilliant amd show the depth of your beautiful soul! Yes that’s corny but it’s true. You have a true heart, love.

    And hahaha we nominated each other!

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

