Lullabies by Lang Leav

lullabies

Set to a musical theme, love’s poetic journey in this new, original collection begins with a Duet and travels through Interlude and Finale with an Encore popular piece from the best-selling Love & Misadventure. Lang Leav’s evocative poetry speaks to the soul of anyone who is on this journey.

I have no doubt that the feelings and fleeting moments that Lang Leav write about may be authentic. I’m a believer in the authenticity of feelings – including unwanted feelings, conflicting thoughts, and injurious wishes. The issue is that in the hands of an incompetent poet, the poemsΒ reduce these feelings to something puerile and deplorable. So instead of something complex, we have these poems that appear to dignify reckless, harmful ‘love’.

A part of me empathizes with what Leav is trying to convey, because I too have experienced heartbreak. But such feelings were what I felt when I was fourteen, and as an adult I can say, with a hint of self-depreciation, that the feelings I felt, especially those of the injudicious abnegation kind, may have been valid but they were also stupid. Rather than remind me of my stupidity and shame, I wish Lullabies reminded me of my innocence. Perhaps in the hands of a better writer, the essence of Leav’s poems might have been better conveyed. But, alas.

Similar to my qualms of Love and Misadventures, the poems are shallow and contrived. They are a slight improvement from its prequel – I’ll give Leav that – and some of her written verses were digestible. I still believe that Leav has the potential to be a good writer. She just has to believe that her audience is capable of detecting subtlety.

I am not sure what compelled me to read this despite my dislike for Love and Misadventures but I guess worse decisions could have been made on a Sunday night.

Rating: 1.5/5

Book Information
Book Name: Lullabies
Author: Lang Leav
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

Lullabies in:
Goodreads | Book Depository | Amazon


Note: I opted to not draw Lullabies‘s book’s cover. Lang Leav illustrates her covers (which I think are actually pretty nice), and with one of her illustrationsΒ featured in the cover, I felt weird redrawing her drawing.

14 thoughts on “Lullabies by Lang Leav

    • Hi Tanaz! To be honest your time may be better invested elsewhere. But if you are curious, this book took me only an hour to read (and even then I was distracted with other things), so it’s not too much of a dent in your time!

      But I absolutely agree with your comment on poetry. I believe poetry should be subtle.

      I don’t! I did, for a time, but it was when I was fifteen and thought I was super deep because writing it elicited so much emotion out of me LOL

      • Hahaha well you were 15! I have had a love of poetry since I was eight and I hate it when I see people make it meaningless by clearly saying what it is about. I think the magic of poetry is in making you think of what the writee actually wants to say.

        • Hahah Tanaz, thank you for being kind to my 15 year old self!

          I do too. It’s sort of like in Mockingjay, Katniss explains the metaphor of the Hanging Man and that just… really… annoyed me?! D:

          I agree! It’s about searching for meaning, and guessing, and then debating the meaning with your peers! Or, it ought to be. :c

  1. Poorly written poetry always makes me sad :S I’m a sucker for gorgeous poetry, and even though I dislike romance, I tend to make an exception for romantic poetry. So it’s a real shame this collection didn’t handle the idea of reckless teenage love well — I feel like this is also an issue in some YA, too, when impulsive relationships are idealised.

    PS: Ooh, drawings in drawings. That would be an interesting concept, but yes, rather weird.

    • I think romantic poetry is the best sort of romance. *u* It most certainly didn’t, and it’s a shame. And I think reckless romance is rather normalized, so why not flesh it out and portray it in a variety of ways if the subject is to be pursued?

  2. Your truthful review is amazing, CW. I’ve only read Love and Misadventure. That and your truthful review are enough for me not to get to Lullabies. Either poetry is not for me or I just don’t speak Lang Leav’s language.

    • Haha Trisha! I think you and I don’t speak her language. I guess it’s good that some do. c:

      If you didn’t like L&M, Lullabies won’t change your opinion on her poetry! Take my word for it. XD

  3. The idea of these poems sounds really lovely. I like the idea of the words and music being connected. But I’m disappointed to hear that the poems didn’t live up to that expectation. Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

