The Harry Potter Tag

harrypottertag

Hi everyone! I have been tagged to do The Harry Potter Tag! Big, big thank yous to Summer @ Xingsings and Thuong at I Read Therefore I Am for tagging me. They have such lovely blogs; check them out!

I loved Harry Potter when I was growing up, and I owe these books to my love of reading. The Harry Potter books got me into reading; I hated reading before. It was only when a teacher aide read Harry Potter to us during mat time (MAT TIME!), where I clung to every single spoken word, that I started to see the beauty in the written word.

(Also, I’m pretty happy with how the banner turned out! I drew Hogwarts castle a long time ago, so I reused it, changed the colouring, and added some new stuff into it. I hope you guys like it!)

Thank you again to Summer and Thuong for tagging me, and giving me an opportunity to re-explore my childhood! It has been a long time since I have thought about Harry Potter, so I am going to enjoy doing this immensely!

1. Favorite book?

My favourite Harry Potter book would, easily, be Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. It is the book I’ve re-read the most – I think I have read it at least five times – and I don’t often re-read books. In fact, I never do – so that’s saying something! I just loved the Triwizard Tournament, the trials, the new and interesting characters from different wizarding schools, and the fantastical creatures. My favourite part was the sphinx, and I was devastated that they didn’t include it in the movie! Also, Cedric (yeah, I was a Cedric fangirl! Were you?)

2. Favorite movie?

Gosh, this is hard. I liked most of the movies, but it has been a very long time since I watched them (my memory is awful). But if I had to go with a movie, I’m going with Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. After Chamber of Secrets, the third movie installment adopted a new ‘look’ that I fell in love with instantly. It was like the movies and the book’s identities finally aligned, and Hogwarts appeared more magical. (Though, I liked Richard Harris as Dumbledore more than Michael Gambon. I felt like Harris understood Dumbledore better.)

3. Least favorite book?

I’m torn between The Order of the Phoenix and Philosopher’s Stone. Whilst Order of the Phoenix was very long (and I remember younger-me getting bored in some parts), my least favourite is Philosopher’s Stone. I really enjoyed the books once the plot started to thicken, and with Philosopher’s Stone being more of an introductory novel, it just wasn’t as exciting as the rest. Still, I do like the Philosopher’s Stone — just not as much.

4. Parts of the books/movies that make you cry?

Dobby, Snape (even though I’m not a fan of Snape for reasons, but THAT SCENE), seeing Harry’s parents with the Resurrection Stone, Lupin, Tonks… blarghghghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

5. Favorite character?

Either Lupin or Tonks. I loved both of them. Lupin, for being that father-like figure who taught me so much as a adolescent, and Tonks for her quirkiness, sweetness, and bubbliness (imagine living in perpetual fear of Death Eaters and Voldemort, but there she was, bright as the sun). On second thought, I also like Hermoine – smart, intelligent, not cold and calculating, but someone with feelings and flaws. But then there’s also Neville. And Hagrid. And Luna. And Sirius. And —

6. What would your Patronus be?

This was the hardest question. So I asked a few people.

My mum thinks my patronus would be a chipmunk or a dog. My sister thinks I am a cow (“HOW COULD YOU SAY THAT?” “Because you are motherly but when someone messes with you, you’d WRECK THEM!”). My friend says I’m either a snow leopard or a wolf. Shingie says that I would have something with a vengeance, like a ferret.

Fifty-three minutes and much discussion later, I am going with Shingie – I think I am a ferret.

7. If you could have the Resurrection Stone, the Invisibility Cloak, or the Elder Wand, which one would you choose?

Invisibility Cloak!

8. What House would you be in?

I know the flak Hufflepuff gets, but I wish I could be in Hufflepuff! “Hufflepuff is the most inclusive among the four houses; valuing hard work, patience, loyalty, and fair play rather than a particular aptitude in its members.” Heck yeah. But as much as I’d love to be in Hufflepuff, I think Hufflepuff’s values are more of something that I aspire to, rather than something that is really inherent.

According to the Pottermore quiz, I am Ravenclaw. “Members of this house are characterised by their wit, learning, and wisdom.” And I think that sounds about right.

9. If you could meet any member of the cast, who would it be?

Emma Watson! A no-brainer there, for me.

10. If you were on the quidditch team, what position would you play?

Looking back on how I played team sports, I think I would be a Chaser.

11. Were you happy with the ending?

I was! It was sweet, heartwarming and deserved, especially after seven books. The only thing I didn’t like were the names of Harry’s children. I understand why he would name them as such, but it felt ridiculous on the tongue. Otherwise, a great ending, especially Draco and Harry’s silent acknowledgement of each other. I think there’s something powerful in that, like a shared, mutual feeling shared between the two characters.

12. How much does Harry Potter mean to you?

My feelings for the Harry Potter books are a bit different to other readers that I know. Whilst Harry Potter was a very big part of my life – beginning in the year 2000 and then ending with the last book in 2007 – after I finished the books my love of them began to diminish and dim into a soft glow of nostalgic appreciation rather than involved passion for the Harry Potter series. I appreciated what the books did for me, what the books taught me and the incredible world that J.K. Rowling gave to us. But it has been a long time and, compared to when I read the books, I am a very different person now. So, I suppose you can call me a retired Potterhead, though I am seriously considering rereading the books.

Phew, that was super fun to write!


I tag these lovely bloggers (and I’m sorry if you’ve done this tag before/don’t do tags!):


For everyone else: Are you guys looking forward to the new Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movie? Have you read the book?

Have a lovely day everyone! ♥

30 thoughts on “The Harry Potter Tag

  1. I LOVE YOUR HOGWARTS! :D

    And your answers! It’s interesting that you consider yourself as a retired Potterhead. Deathly Hallows came out when I was in fifth grade, so I was ten or eleven years old. And since then I kind of became one (a retired Potterhead that is) as well. However, my love for the series rekindled when I went to HP world a few years ago. XD I’ll probably reinstate my retired status in a few years. :P …unless, we reread HP together! ;)

    …and wait a second, your sister compared you to a cow?! Omg, I love her reasoning though. XD But ferret it is!

    • THANK YOU SUMMER! C:

      Haha, thanks! I tried to put a lot of thought into it, esp since Harry Potter is awesome and has done so much for me!

      Ooh wow, I remember taking my Harry Potter book with me to the bathroom because I couldn’t tear myself away LOL.

      After doing the tag, I’ve realized how much I really loved it back in the day. But YES YES RE-READ? Whenever you are free – let’s do it!

      I KNOW RIGHT. I was like D: D: D: HOW COULD YOU. She says I look like a cow too, sigh! hahahaha!

  2. YOU DREW THAT BANNER? IT IS GORGEOUSNESS. Prisoner of Azkaban is also one of my favorite movies, although I’m not sure which one is my favorite book. They all have fond memories from me. I love your family’s suggestions on your patronus merely based on their humor, but in terms of the coolness factor, I would say that the ferret totally wins. I really appreciate your thoughts in the last question especially… Like, I do enjoy Harry Potter and I’ll watch the movies, etc., but I am also as not a diehard fan as I was in fourth grade, you know? The term “retired Potterhead” is nice to hear, that you can still appreciate something without being insanely addicted, if that makes sense.

    • Hey Heather! Aw, thank you so much! I drew it back in my heyday when I was super into drawing. I’m not that good anymore, I’m afraid!

      That’s so true – it’s hard to quantify something as rich and awesome as the Harry Potter series, esp when all of them are meaningful, distinct contributions to the plot.

      I think I like ferret the best too! I’m really petite, so I guess it works in that way too.

      I’m glad someone understand what I mean. :) A lot of my friends still regard themselves as diehard fans, so I feel a bit alienated because I love the series, but not thaaaaaaaat much anymore? It totally makes sense! It perfectly describes how I feel too. :)

      Thank you for commenting! I enjoyed reading & replying. <3

  3. Thank you so much for tagging me! I love Harry Potter! However … I have not read the last book! There, I said it! And I call myself a fan?? Haha! I think I’m afraid to read the last book. Haha. But I will read the seventh book (but I’ll have to reread books 1-6), and once I do finish the seventh, I’ll do this tag! I like how you call yourself a retired Potterhead. As for me, I miss being a die-hard Harry Potter fan. Also, I love your banner! I’ve never learned to draw, and it’s one of the things I wish I could do. :)

    • I think you can still call yourself a fan! C: If you liked the 6 books, heck, forget what the naysayers think – I’d call you a fan!

      That’s fair enough! I’ve been thinking of rereading the books – maybe we could reread the books together!

      I miss it too! I went on Pottermore the other day, and it was such a nostalgic experience. Maybe there’s always a second time with being a diehard fan?

      Thank you so much! <3 It's never too late to draw! You'll just make lots of mistakes and crappy drawings, but practice and you'll see improvement. <3

  4. I was a HUGE fan of Cedric too (at least until before he became Edward Cullen)!!
    And yeah, Dobby and Snape *sniff* ..and Fred and Sirius and many others :'(
    I haven’t read Fantastic Beasts yet (have you?) but I’m really excited for the movie!! :)

  5. Harry Potter is life!!! The fifth book is my fave. I read the paperback version a bajillion times during high school. In my most obsessive Harry Potter phases, I’d put the Order of the Phoenix audiobook on before going to sleep ahaha.

  6. Thanks for doing the tag! Enjoyed reading your answers. Glad to hear you are going to start rereading the series :) Goblet of Fire is a very entertaining book! Agreed – the films brought the books to life and made it even more magical. I only just realised the actress for Tonks was also in Game of Thrones! I didn’t not recognise her lol. Yay for being in Ravenclaw :)

      • Osha thats her name! I forgotten since she disappeared in season 5. I googled it and yes its her! I feel like a lot of side characters you’ve already seen in different TV shows, like Gilly and Gendry – they were both in Skins :)

        • I never watched Skins, but heard all these good things about it! I’m so bad at watching TV though, like I think I’ve only ever finished 6 TV shows, hahaha.

          • Skins is awesome! <3 I only loved seasons 1 and 2, they were the best! Hannah Murray (Gilly) played Cassie and she's so quirky in a weird drugged out sort of way lol. I don't watch much TV shows either. Currently watching Pretty Little Liars and Fear the Walking Dead :D

  7. I agree, Hufflepuff is a respectable house. My sister gave a similar reasoning for joining that house too. I wish I had a whole book following the adventures of the house founders. Thanks for tagging me for the nostalgic trip!

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

