The Nostalgic Book Review Tag

nostalgiabookreviewHello everyone!

Today, I want to share an original tag with all of you – created by yours truly! (Thank you to my bookish Twitter friends who encouraged me.) It’s called The Nostalgic Book Review Tag. 

The idea of this tag came to me when I was telling my friend about a book that I had read back in 2012. The problem was, having read the book three years ago, I couldn’t remember the book very well but I remembered very clearly how much I loved it, and how it made me feel. (“Okay I don’t really remember what happened but JUST READ IT. IT’S GOOD, I PROMISE!”)

The Nostalgic Book Review Tag is a tag about capturing that feeling, and also about how our memories aren’t always about the minute details, but about how something made us feel. (I love that saccharine stuff; I’m not ashamed!)


How the Tag Works

In this tag, you will be reviewing a book you read three or more years ago (if you started reading less than three years ago, tell us about your first book). The best part: you will be reviewing the book purely from memory. I hope you all have fantastic memory (because I certainly don’t)!

Here is the tag, broken down into three parts:

1. The Summary.

First, tell us a little bit about this book, and approximately when you read it. Write a summary (brief, long, anything you like!) of the book you are reviewing.

Some prompts and questions to help you:

  • Describe characters and important events in the book (to the best of your ability).
  • What were the themes, if any? (If your summary contains spoilers, please give a warning at the top of your summary!)

Note: This means that you are not allowed to look up specific details of the book if you do not remember them. Remember — purely from memory! If you don’t remember that one name, write what you think they were called. Hands off Google, everyone!

2. The Thoughts.

Share your thoughts on your chosen book. Reflect and talk about what you thought of the book back then.

Prompts for thee!

  • How did you feel after reading this book? What were your thoughts?
  • Do you think anything – your feelings, thoughts, opinions – would have changed since you last read it?
  • Would your interpretation of the book’s themes, ideas or messages back then be different compared to now?
  • For extra brownie points: Talk about how this book changed you as a person, and how it shaped you to become the person you are today. Maybe share how this book has influenced you since you have read it. Did it make a significant impact on your life? How? Have you changed much since reading this book?

3. The Epilogue.

Here’s the fun part: now you can look up a summary of the book – find all those names that you couldn’t remember, those plot points that seemed pretty important – and all those things you might have forgotten. Don’t go back and edit the summary from the first part!

Stuck?

  • What parts did you remember correctly, and what parts did you forget?
  • Why do you think you remembered certain parts of the book, and not others?
  • If you read this book again, would you feel differently about it than you did before?
  • Would you still like the book if you read it again?
  • If this book is a favourite, would you reread this book?

Rules of the tag:

  • Please link back to Read Think Ponder’s post, so that the original rules are always accessible to anyone who is curious and wants to participate!
  • Remember: do not look up your book when writing its Summary and Thoughts.
  • Acknowledge the person who tagged you in your post.
  • Tag your friends and fellow bloggers – it’s up to you how many!

Nostalgic Book Review Masterpost:

All posts linked back to the page will be added to the master post. If you do not want your post included in the list, please let me know and I’ll take it down! 


And because this post has become ridiculously long – I talk too much – I shall do my own Nostalgic Book Review another day.

To start off, I tag the following people (and sorry if I tag you and you don’t do tags!):

69 thoughts on “The Nostalgic Book Review Tag

  1. Oooo I love this idea! I definitely have a book in mind haha. Thank you for tagging me and though I am the most sorry person at doing book tags- I’ll try and get this one done in the next week!! Good luck with it!! And again I love your drawing!!

  2. Yesyesyesyesyesyesyes
    This is me when I recommend children’s books to kids. I’m like, “HEY KID READ THIS.” And they’re like, “What’s it about?” And I’m like, “I DON’T REMEMBER BUT I SWEAR IT’S GOOD.”
    They think I’m crazy XD
    I like this idea a lot! In fact I think that instead of only making this a tag, you could totally spin it into a blog feature. It’s a lot more unique than a lot of the other tags out there and I think this challenge could end in either failure (highly likely) or triumphant success (highly unlikely).
    I’ll definitely be adding this to my growing list of tags and awards but chances are that I’ll end up doing it a lot sooner because it sounds like a lot of fun!
    Kelly @ Dancing Through the Pages

    • Hey Kelly! Hahah me too! Gosh, we have such similar reading habits; it’s awesome.

      I think that’s a smart idea. I did think of making this a feature, but I’m still a noob in this whole book blog thing… how would I turn it into a feature?

      LOL do you mean that it’s likely to be a success and unlikely to be a failure…?

      Hehe, I do hope you’ll have fun with it. <3

      • You could just make it a regular thing rather than just a challenge. Like every now and then, pick a new book and challenge yourself to remember it. It could come off as repetitive but I think it’d be fun!
        Well…. I’d either be able to remember many wonderful details and “succeed” or I’d forget everything and fail. XD

        • oooh okay! I’ll consider it. I might leave it as a tag for now. :) I do have other tag ideas in mind, but I don’t want to bombard everyone with their loads, hehe, so I’ll wait for a few months. Thanks for the advice though, Kelly! Much appreciated. c:

          HAHA I’d definitely fail! I already tried to write my post and it’s so embarrassing. XD

  3. Ahh, this tag sounds great. Unique and different and fabulous :P Do you mind if I steal this some time around? I’ll link up with you and everything. LOVE THE TAG. <3

    • Aw, thanks Nirvana – I’m glad you think so!

      I don’t mind in the SLIGHTEST! I’m so sorry I didn’t tag you! But please, I’d be honoured if you did this tag. Make sure you link it to me, because I’d LOVE to read it! <3

  4. Wow! This is exciting! Before I finished reading your post, I had come up with a wide option of books to choose from. Haha! As always, you’re a very creative thinker not just in web design stuff but also in brainstorming. Thanks for tagging me! :)

    • Oooh yes, AWESOME! I can’t wait to see your post. :D
      Haha, I think this might be a one-hit wonder – I spend hours grappling for ideas! But your words are kind, thank you very much. :)

  5. HOLY MACARONI, DID YOU THINM OF THIS YOURSELF?! This is incredible, I’m so excited that I’m going to drop everything and possible do this post tomorrow!
    This is such a clever idea that I think is going to be making its rounds around the blogosphere for a while! I’m so excited, thank you! xoxo

  6. OH MY GOSH. So when I saw that you tagged me, I was like “oh! I never heard of this one before. Yayayayayayyayay!” And then I came to this post and realized you created this. You’re awesome Chooi! :D This is so exciting; thanks again for tagging me!

    • Yay, thanks Joey! Glad you think so! :) I can’t wait to see your post! Not sure how your memory is, but however it is I’m certain your writing will be eloquent as always.

  7. […] The Nostalgic Book Review Tag is a unique tag created by CW @ Read, Think, Ponder. For this tag, you have to write a review for a book that you read at least 3 years ago. I wasn’t tagged by anyone but it looked like a lot of fun and I wanted to give it a go! For more information, check out the original post here. […]

    • I’m glad you enjoyed doing the tag! <3 I enjoyed reading your post! The book sounds dark! But super intersesting all the same.

      I'll add yours to the masterpost straight away. :) A wide variety is awesome! Thank you again for doing the tag. c:

    • I loved reading this, Sydney! <3 I haven't read Paper Towns in forever, so when reading your summary, I was like YES YES and realized that I forgot the things you did too, haha. :)
      Great post, Sydney!! I'm so happy you did this tag. <3

  8. When I saw you post this I immediately had a book in mind that I wanted to do for this. I’ve been horrible with keeping up with my reviews lately, but I’m really excited to get this one up on my blog soon. Thank you for coming up with such a fun tag! P.S. Love all your art! :-)

    • Hi Nicolette! Ah, that’s awesome! I’ve always had a book at the back of my mind too, and I’ve always wanted to review it or share my thoughts on it… except I read it ages ago! n-n But I’m pleased to hear you’ll do this tag! I can’t wait to read it!

      (Thank you so much!!) <3

  9. Hi, CW! Joey from Thoughts and Afterthoughts tagged me to do this tag and wanted to check out your post before drafting it so I can give it justice! I love the premise of this tag, especially since I loved reminiscing just how much I loved a specific book! I’ll be drafting mine with All The Bright Places! Can’t wait for you to read it! :)

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

