Yaaaaay, new theme!

Hi everyone!

I have been working on a banner for a long time now, and I’m excited to finally show it to you guys!

I’ve always wanted to make my blog more personal to Shingie and I. After all, it is our blog – but how do we distinguish ourselves from other bloggers? My answer came to me when I was showering (as do most of my good ideas): a bookshelf. When I thought of this idea, I knew I had to draw the bookshelf, and it had to be spines. There’s something incredibly beautiful about looking at book spines, and I wanted to incorporate book covers into the book spines. Also art is important to us. I love digital illustration; it used to be a big part of my life– but that’s a story for another day.

The bookshelf isn’t filled with an random assortment of books. The books above are some of Shingie and I’s favourite books. Some of Shingie’s favourites are All The King’s Men by Robert Penn Warren, The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger, and Nineteen-Eighty Four by George Orwell. Every other book is my favourite, hehehe. (I’ve been bugging her for the past two weeks, “MORE BOOKS! GIMME A BOOK!” I suppose I may have to bug her more.)

The reason why it took so long for me to finish this was because I began to ran out of favourite books (and I was worried no one would really care about all the work I put in; art laife). I contemplated scraping the bottom of the barrel, and draw any book that I liked, even though it may not have qualified as a favourite. But then I thought, I still haven’t read many books – compared to most readers anyway – and I’m still in this process of discovering new books and books that I love. So the bookshelf is incomplete, as is my reading journey. Of course, as I discover more books, if they’re a favourite, I’ll add them to the shelf!

My only regret is that the original size of this banner is 1170×500, so the banner is almost twice as small than it actually is. Unfortunately, some small details that I drew in may be lost with the size, but hey, it looks acceptable to me! But in any case, here is the bookshelf (as of today) in its full size for your viewing pleasure (and for me to look back on, because I’m very vulnerable to nostalgia).

bigbanner(Open the image in a new tab for the full size!)

I was getting a little sick of the monotone grays and white; I was going for minimalism, but I think this blog has grown to be more than just that now. I am also thinking of drawing covers of the books I review, and include that in the review instead of the original cover. Hm, what do you guys think?

In any case, I hope you guys like the new look! Have a lovely day everyone! 

21 thoughts on “Yaaaaay, new theme!

  1. OMG THIS IS AWESOME! I visited your blog today and this is such a beautiful and pleasant surprise. You are so talented, I LOVE LOVE LOVE the drawings you did. Omg now that I have seen them I NEED you to show me more. Please do share your art story with us all one day. I spy some of my favourites on there: 1984, Norwegian Wood, and of course RED RISING <3 (how my love affair with you began).

    I am still blown away by the illustrated shelf omg!

    Btw do you have twitter? If so please add me promptly <3 @readatmidnight

    • Anyway I just spammed twitter with your blog link bc everyone needs to see this header and also your beautiful reviews. URGH I can’t stop staring at it, you’re the best Chooi!

      • WAAAH THANK YOU AENTEE! <3
        That really means a lot to me, esp since it is coming from you. :') Hahaha I will share my story one day, I promise! :D

        Norwegian Wood is probably my all time favourite book. ;_; I had to include it!! :D

        AWWWWW thank you for the shout on Twitter!! <3 And thank yooooou again oh my gosh, haha. No I swear YOU'RE the best! :'D

  2. OH MY GOODNESS. THIS IS SO AMAZING. I can’t believe you made this yourself; all the books look so similar to the actual spines! For you to run out of favorites just shows how great of a critic you are as a reader! ;) And I spy The Winner’s Curse! …I still haven’t read that yet despite your (and Carolyn’s) love for it. Soon, I hope! I also really love that you made this so personal for both you and Shingie. What a clever idea! :D

    Oh and I like the subtle floral background too!

    • Awww, thank you for your sweet comment, Summer! :’D <3
      YES WINNER'S CURSE!! It'll ruin you, but in the best way possible, trust me! heheh. :D I honestly can't wait for you to read it, and then you can read The WInner's Crime, which is better imo!
      Hehe thank you again! <3

  3. Oh my, your header is so gorgeous. I adore quite a few of these books, although I’ve been meaning to read Red Rising and haven’t yet. And drawing books would be gorgeous for a book review! Book photography is one of the bits of book blogs I love most but can’t emulate, and I cannot even begin to imagine the awesomeness of drawing books.

    So awesome to meet you! :D :D

    • Aw, thank you Alyssa! Red Rising is absolutely fantastic. I’d definitely give it a go. The only downside is that its themes are not subtle at all, but I guess it works still.

      Likewise!! Meeting you and having our discussion was one of the highlights of my day! <3

  4. Aaaaaaahhhh oh my god absolutely LOVE the bookshelf drawing!!! <3 I absolutely suck at drawing, so I am constantly in awe of people who can—you for sure! And if you do decide to draw your book covers, I'd totally be in favor of that. :) Book photography is beautiful, but your drawings are unique and they'd look awesome. ;)

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

