Never, Never by Tarryn Fisher & Colleen Hoover

never never 1When I was in my final year of high school I went through a phase where I wrote stories that asked the big what if‘s. What if an element of reality was suspended, twisted, or momentarily substituted with something fantastical? What would be the consequences? How would one weave a tale from an imagined scenario? These were questions that I loved exploring when I was younger, and for me, Never Never was nostalgic of that exploration. In Never Never, Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher ask: what if you and someone you loved suddenly had no recollection of your family, your friends, your life, and of each other?

Phew, this book was a page-turner. It has such an addictive quality, and packs quite a punch despite its length. Therefore, if there’s anything I can appreciate about Never Never is it doesn’t stagger around its purpose. It is to the point, and is therefore gripping. The accumulation of mysteries throughout the novel are intriguing, dark, and kept me very curious. What has befallen the two main characters; how did it happen, why did it happen? I need to know! (I think I should read more mystery; I think I would really enjoy them.)

With regards to its characters, I think it is difficult to pass judgement for now because there’s still so much the reader does not know; there are many questions left unanswered, and the characters are further from the answers than the beginning. Regardless, the cynical and dark depiction of teenagehood was intriguing and an element of the book’s narrative that kept me hooked. Never Never unashamedly presents very flawed characters; the most interesting part is that the characters themselves – having no memories – steadily discover that they are very flawed people. The revelations that follow are an interesting exploration of the self and who or what the self is.

Never Never is a quick read, and easily digestible in one sitting (I read this across two days during my commute to and from work, and the last few chapters at home). Unfortunately this book is the first of three parts — why the three parts could not be amalgamated into one book is beyond me. Nonetheless, as it is a short book, I could argue that it’s worthwhile giving Never Never a go. Regardless, whatever qualms you may have about the book’s length, Never Never is enjoyable, mysterious, and thrilling. Given its cliffhanger, it is very likely I will pick up Part Two!

Rating: 3.5/5

Book Information
Book Name: Never Never
Book Series: Never Never #1
Authors: Tarryn Fisher and Colleen Hoover
Publisher: Hoover Ink

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear your thoughts/comments. <3

